LAHORE - The eleventh convocation of Beaconhouse National University (BNU) was held yesterday at Tarogil Campus. 

The ceremony was presided over by Chairperson, Board of Governors, Mrs Nasreen Mahmud Kasuri along with Vice Chancellor, Shahid Hafiz Kardar, Khurshid Mahmud Kasuri, Kasim Mahmud Kasuri and other members of the Board.

Deans of BNU Schools including Prof Dr Gulzar Haider, Prof Dr Tariq Rahman, Prof Rashid Rana, Prof Dr Khaver Zia, Prof Dr Ruhi Khalidand Prof Dr Taimur-ul-Hassan presented the graduates to the Chancellor.  The ceremony was attended by dignitaries, guests, faculty and parents of the graduating students.

A total of 412 graduates were awarded degrees on the occasion. Of these, 129 received graduate degrees and the remaining 283receivedundergraduate degrees.  These include 81from Mariam Dawood School of Visual Arts & Design (SVAD), 51 from Razia Hassan School of Architecture (SA), 40 from Seeta Majeed School of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (SLASS), 93 from School of Media & Mass Communication (SMC), 70 from School of Computer and IT (SCIT), 40 from the Institute of Psychology (IP)and 37 from School of Education (SE).

This year a total of 20 gold medals were awarded to graduates with outstanding scholastic achievements. Of these 14 were girls. The Nasim Hijazi Gold Medal was awarded to Muhammad Hamza Naseer of MS Public Relations & Advertising program while the Arfa Karim Gold Medal was awarded to Syed Haider Mehdi Zaidi of BSc (Hons) Software Engineering program.  The valedictorian speaker this year was Naureen Zaman, graduating student from the School of Education with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 4.0 in the MPhil program in Teaching of English as a Second Language (TESL).