MUZAFFARABAD: Polling for the 10th general elections on 41 seats of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly was held today. The polling continued without any break till 5 PM.

AJK Election Commission has made necessary arrangements to conduct the elections in a free, fair and transparent manner.  Around four hundred twenty-three candidates are taking part in the election.

Over two point six million voters of twenty-nine constituencies of AJK and twelve reserved seats for refugees of Jammu Kashmir settled in Pakistan are exercising their right to franchise.

Special security arrangements have been made by deploying thirty six thousand personnel of Army, Rangers, Frontier Constabulary and Police to maintain law and order.

Polling is underway in Rawalpindi Division and the Federal Capital for three Kashmiri refugees seats of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly.

Over forty-four thousand Kashmiri refugees will exercise their vote in Rawalpindi, Chakwal, Jhelum, Attock, Murree, Hassanabdal, Taxila, Gujar Khan, Sohawa, Pind Dadan Khan, Dina and Islamabad to elect three representatives out of nine candidates from Jammu-6, Valley-4 and Valley-5 constituencies.

The Election Commission has declared over a dozen polling stations highly sensitive and elaborate security arrangements have been made to avoid any untoward incident. The election body has set up one hundred and one polling stations for the three constituencies. The main contest is among the candidates from PML (N), PPP and PTI.