ISLAMABAD - Speaker National Assembly (NA) Sardar Iyaz Sadiq on Friday, a day after getting powers from the lower house of the parliament, decided to set up a 32 members committee for electoral reforms .
The NA speaker in consultative meeting convened to discuss the consultation of a proposed parliamentary committee on electoral reform, decided that the 32 member committee on election reforms consisting of MNAs and senators will submit their report within 3 months.
A seven representative from ruling party PML-N, four from PPP, three from PTI, three from MQM, and one each from JUI-F, PML-Q and other parties will be members of the committee. Iyaz Sadiq also asked all the political factions to submit the names of their members for election reforms committee. The speaker thanked all the parliamentary leaders and representatives of political parties for attending the meeting. He said that the meeting in question has been convened in furtherance of the unanimous motion adopted in the house for constitution of a committee on electoral reforms .
He said that giving importance to the matter, the committee should meet on daily basis and evaluate the shortcomings of the previous electoral process and make recommendations for free, fair and transparent elections. He said that he had not consented to the proposal of extension for one month to the committee so it should complete the task assigned to it within the stipulated timeframe. He was confident that the committee would make comprehensive recommendations acceptable to all.
The major parties decided to relinquish one seat each from their quota to accommodate single member parties in the parliament whose representation was otherwise not possible. The speaker asked the parliamentary leaders to forward names of their members to the NA Secretariat at the earliest.
The meeting was attended by Syed Khursheed Ahmad Shah, Leader of Opposition, Rana Tanvir Hussain, minister for defence production, Zahid Hamid, minister for science & technology, Khawaja Saad Rafiq, minister for railways, Sheikh Aftab Ahmad, minister for parliamentary affairs, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, minister for petroleum and natural resources, MNAs Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Shahida Akhtar Ali, Ghous Bux Khan Mahar, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah, Usman Khan Tarakai, Syed Naveed Qamar, Abdul Rahim Mandokhail, Mehmood Khan Achakzai,   Sufyan Yousuf, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, Muhammad Muzammil Qureshi and Dr Arif Alvi.