ISLAMABAD - The upper house election on all its 52 seats completed on Friday as four candidates -Taj Muhammad Afridi, Aurangzeb Khan, Haji Momin Khan Afridi and Sajjad Hussain Tori- succeeded to win four Senate seats of Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata).

As many as 36 candidates contested for four Fata seats in the elections held at the Parliament House.

The polling was held in a committee room of the Parliament House that had been declared as the polling station.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had issued a fresh schedule of Fata polls as it had postponed election on four Fata seats on Senate election day (March 5), after issuance of a controversial presidential order changing voting pattern for this election. President had later withdrawn the order after the government reached a consensus with the opposition parties on the issue.

According to unofficial results, out of 11 Fata MNAs, only seven cast their votes while four MNAs did not turn up for voting. Aurangzeb Khan and Taj Muhammad Afridi received seven votes each while Sajjad Hussain Toori and Haji Momin Khan Afridi secured six votes each. Eleven MNAs of Fata make electoral college for Fata Senate polls.

Through the presidential order, an order earlier issued by then president Gen Pervez Musharraf had been withdrawn. As per order issued by Gen Musharraf, each tribal MNA had the right to cast four votes in Senate election.

The new order gave the right of one vote to each Fata MNA

However, the opposition parties and the Fata lawmakers had severely protested over this order that forced the government to withdraw it.