New Delhi- Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been invited to Modi's swearing-in ceremony being held on May 26.

In an unexpected diplomatic move, Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif as well as the heads of other SAARC nations have been invited to Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony today, the Indian media reported.

Indian President Pranab Mukherjee appointed Modi as the prime minister and asked him to decide on who will be a part of his cabinet. He will be sworn in at 6 pm on Monday.

Along with Nawaz Sharif , Bhutan’s king, Bangladeshi Prime Minister, President of Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan have been invited for the oath ceremony.