DHAKA (AFP) - Mushfiqur Rahim has been named Bangladeshs new captain for the upcoming home series against the West Indies and Pakistan, an official said on Tuesday. All-rounder M Mahmudullah was named Rahims deputy, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) spokesman Rabeed Imam said. Rahim will captain the national team for Tests and limited-over matches for the home series against the West Indies and Pakistan, he told AFP. The West Indies will tour from October and Pakistan from the last week of November. Wicket-keeper Rahim, a former vice-captain, had a brilliant series in Zimbabwe last month when he hit his first century in one-day internationals. He was singled out as a likely choice for captaincy after the BCB sacked regular captain Shakib Al Hasan and vice-captain Tamim Iqbal early this month following the teams unsuccessful tour of Zimbabwe. Bangladesh lost the one-off Test and then a five-match one-day series 3-2 in Zimbabwe. Shakib and Tamim are the best Bangladeshi cricketers to have emerged on the international scene, winning Wisden cricket magazines international player of the year in 2009 and 2010, respectively. But they were accused of indiscipline during the Zimbabwe tour. Preliminary squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Mahmudullah (vc), Imrul Kayes, Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, M Ashraful, Junaid Siddique, Shakib Al Hasan, Alok Kopali, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Nasir Hossain, Naeem Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Nazmul Hossain, Shuvogoto Hom, Shurawadi Shuvo, Raqibul Hassan, Syed Rasel, Robiul Islam, Mohammad Elias, Sahagir Hossain.