LAHORE - The East Zone Cricket Championship will begin from January 6 with the opening match between Faran Sports and Young Prince Club at LCCA Ground. President East Zone Cricket Association Syed Kamil Shah will be the chief guest while Mrs Rab Nawaz and M Khursheed will supervise the match. As many 35 clubs of the zone will participate in the event which will be played according to knock-out system. A meeting of the tournament committee was held under the chair of chairman tournament committee Waqarul Munir here at the LCCA Pavilion the other day to finalise all the works. The meeting decided that only registered players would play. Eleven clubs will not participate in the event as they did not submit the entry fee. The meeting was attended by Secretary East Zone Habibul Hassan Shah and also by members Mehboob Alam ,Abdul Rauf, M Khursheed, Malik Riaz and Azmat Baig.