AHMEDABAD (Agencies) - A disciplined performance in the field from Zimbabwe saw them restrict Australia to 262 for six in their Group A match in Ahmedabad on Monday. Aussie skipper Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to have a bat, but opening batsmen Shane Watson and Brad Haddin took a circumspect approach at the top of the innings as they scratched their way to 28 without loss in the opening 10 overs. Zimbabwe opened the bowling from one end with left-arm spinner Ray Price, and with fast bowler Chris Mpofu maintaining a strict line, Watson and Haddin allowed the bowlers to dictate terms in the opening stages. The thinking was clearly that wickets in hand would equate to big runs later on, and while they managed 90 runs from the last 10 overs to lend some credibility to the game plan they still wound up with a less than impressive score. Watsons 79 from 92 balls provided the platform, while Michael Clarke finished the innings well as he hit 58 not out from 55 balls. However Australia never looked completely comfortable against spin - something the other teams in the tournament will have sat up and noticed - and some good utilisation of the review system from Zimbabwe kept them pegged back in the opening 35 overs. Twice the underdogs used the system to overturn umpiring decisions after Haddin (29) and Watson had originally been given not out, while a superb direct hit from deep midwicket by Mpofu saw Ponting short of his ground after hed edged his way to 28. Zimbabwes three frontline spinners - Price, Prosper Utseya and Graeme Cremer - were predictably their main force, finishing with collective figures of 3 for 127 from their 30 overs. AUSTRALIA: S Watson lbw b Cremer 79 B Haddin lbw b Utseya 29 Ponting run out 28 M Clarke not out 58 C White b Mpofu 22 D Hussey b Price 14 Smith c Chakabva b Mpofu 11 M Johnson not out 7 EXTRAS: (lb-7 w-7) 14 TOTAL: (for six wickets, 50 overs) 262 FOW: 1-61 2-140 3-144 4-207 5-241 6-254 BOWLING: Mpofu 9-0-58-2 (2w), Price 10-0-43-1 (1w), Utseya 10-2-43-1 (2w), Cremer 10-0-41-1 (1w), Taylor 3-0-23-0, Chigumbura 2-0-18-0 (1w), Williams 6-0-29-0. ZIMBABWE B Taylor b Tait 16 C Coventry c & b Lee 14 Taibu c Watson b Johnson 7 C Ervine lbw b Johnson 0 E Chigumbura c Haddin b Krejza 14 S Williams c Watson b Tait 28 R Chakabva lbw b Krejza 6 P Utseya c Ponting b Hussey 24 Cremer c Haddin b Johnson 37 R Price not out 5 C Mpofu c Haddin b Johnson 2 EXTRAS: (b-4 lb-9 w-3 nb-2) 18 TOTAL: (all out; 46.2 overs) 171 FOW: all 1-22 2-40 3-40 4-44 5-88 6-96 7-104 8-153 9-167 10-171 BOWLING: Tait 9-1-34-2, Lee 8-1-34-1, Johnson 9.2-2-19-4, Krejza 8-0-28-2, Watson 3-0-7-0, Smith 5-0-24-0, Hussey 4-1-12-1.