­ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) on Sunday added three more members to its election commission aimed at assisting the team that will hold intra-party election of the party scheduled to be held soon.

A statement issued by Chief Election Commissioner PTI Tasnim Noorani, Senator Nauman Wazir Khattak, Brig (Retd) Samson Simon Sharaf and Gen (Retd) Taj would be the three new members that will help hold intra-party election of the party.

Senator Nauman Wazir and Brig (Retd) Samson would be part of PTI’s election commission in Islamabad while Brig Taj will be responsible for assisting the election commission with respect to KP and will be coordinator of the KP election committee.

The decision to appoint three new members ahead of the party’s intra-party election comes after the PTI’s Wajihuddin caused ripples by his report in which he alleged a week back that the intra-party election of PTI earlier had been manipulated by the party’s frontline office-bearers in their favour.

The tribunal set up to investigate rigging in PTI’s intra-party polls had ordered expulsion of senior leaders Jehangir Tareen, Chief Minister KP Pervez Khattak and Nadir Khan Leghari from the party.

Headed by the retired Chief Justice Sindh High Court, Wajihuddin Ahmed last Monday had alleged that both Tareen and Leghari had manipulated the intra-party polls held months before the 2013 general election.

While PTI’s leaders, including its chairman Imran Khan, termed the report of Wajihuddin biased, the retired chief justice had advised to ban the entry of PTI’s bigwigs into party folds.

The tribunal had also cancelled basic membership of Pervaiz Khattak, and PTI’s former Lahore chapter president Aleem Khan and barred them from attaining any party office.

It had also issued show-cause notices to Arif Alvi, Saifullah Niazi and Qasim Suri and summoned them on June 29 for probing their role in the rigging and irregularities in the intra-party polls.