Rawalpindi - The Election Commission has divided cantonment boards Rawalpindi into 785 blocks and 34 wards with setting up 467 polling stations in connection with local bodies (LB) election. All the five cantonment boards of district Rawalpindi including Rawalpindi, Chaklala, Murree hill, Wah cantt and TAXILA have been divided into 785 statistical blocks and 34 wards wherein more than 5000 government employees will perform duties.  

Election Commission Rawalpindi has cancelled the holidays of its staff members in the wake of upcoming LB polls and they have been directed to remain present in the office on March 23.  Ban has been imposed on the transfer of the employees in cantonment boards till further orders.

Sources said about 211 polling stations have been set up for 259000 voters of Rawalpindi cantt and about 200 government employees will do their duties on these polling stations. Likewise 86 polling stations have been established for 127000 voters of chaklalal cantt board and about 1000 government employees will perform their duties.