LAHORE - Tayyab Aslam and Muqaddas Ashraf clinched the 1st SNGPL National Squash Championship 2015 men and women senior titles here at the Punjab Squash Complex on Saturday.

Tayyab Aslam of Zarai Taraqiati Bank Ltd played well against Waqar Mahboob of Khyber PakhtunKhwa and outclassed him by 3-0 in male senior category final while in the women senior final, energetic Muqaddas Ashraf routed top seed No 1 Riffat Khan 3-1 as the scores was 11-8, 6-11, 11-9, 11-3. In women U-19 category final, Madiha Zafar (SNGPL) beat Faiza Zafar (Open Category) 3-2 while in boys’ U-19 final, Mehran Javed (KP) beat Zain Ramzan (PU) to lift the title. Abbas Zaib (Wapda) thumped Mansoor Zaman (KP) by 3-1 to win the boys’ U-17 title.

SNGPL Deputy Managing Director (Operations) Amjad Latif was chief guest at the prize destruction ceremony and gave away trophies to the top contenders. He lauded the players and said: “SNGPL is committed to promote sports culture in Pakistan and holding the inaugural National Squash Championship is one of the steps forward in this regard.”