Our Staff Reporter


In order to provide relief to agriculture consumers Ministry of Water and Power on Friday notified new subsidised electricity rates and directed all the electricity Distribution Companies (Discos) to immediately implement the tariff.

According to the notification farming community in all the Distribution Companies (except Quesco) will be charged at a fixed rate of Rs 10.35 per unit and these rates would be applicable from 1.07.2014 till 30.06.2015. The relief package has been approved by the Economic Coordination Committee in its meeting held yesterday (Thursday).

Farmers in the Quescos jurisdiction are already provided subsidy through a separate mechanism. The Federal Government will pay the subsidy arising as a result of the relief.

In new plan respective Provincial Governments will pay General Sales Tax to the Discos, while Fuel Price Adjustment will be born by the Federal Government. During peak hours (6PM to 10PM) in winter and (5 PM to 11 PM) in summer, the agriculture tubewells will not be entitled for power supply. According to a handout, the federal government has taken the decision to extend maximum support to the farmers to encourage them for taking better yields of different crops.   The officials claim that last year the government’s subsidised electricity rates have helped in achieving record wheat production in the country.