ISLAMABAD - The Election Commission of Pakistan has suspended the membership of 231 parliamentarians including some powerful ruling elites due to the non-submission of their annual financial statements with the Commission. According to the official figures, 103 Members National Assembly (MNAs) of the total 342, 53 Members Provincial Assembly (MPAs) in Punjab, 28 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 23 in Sindh, 13 Senators and 6 MPs in Balochistan have not submitted their financial statements, an obligatory requirement in the light of subsection (1) of section 42 A of the Representation of the People Act 1976. The Punjab Assembly has 371 seats, Sindh Assembly 168, KP Assembly 124, Senate 100 and Balochistan Assembly has 65 seats. Of the total 1170 MPs, 939 have so far provided their financial details. Some powerful parliamentarians who have failed to abide by this constitutional responsibility include Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilanis son MPA Syed Abdul Qadir Gilani, PMs brother MPA Syed Ahmad Mujtaba Gilani, Interior Minister Rehman Malik, Defence Minister Chaudhry Ahmad Mukhtar, Commerce Minister Makhdoom Amin Faheem, Minister for Water and Power Syed Naveed Qamar, Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, Kashmir Affairs Minister Mian Manzoor Wattoo, Petroleum Minister Dr Asim Hussain, Technical Education and Vocational Training Minister Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Minister of State Human Resource Development Sheikh Waqas Akram, Head of PML-Q Unification Bloc Mian Atta Maneka, President PPP Punjab Imtiaz Safdar Warraich, MNA Khawaja Asif, Senator Pervaiz Rashid, MPA Sardar Yar Muhammad Rind, MNA Nabeel Gabool, MNA Hamid Saeed Kazmi, Senator Muhammad Ali Durrani, MPA Arbab Ghulam Rahim, MPA Mufti Kifayatullah, Senator Rehmatullah Kakar, MNA Atta-ur-Rehman (Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehmans brother), MNA Anjum Aqeel Khan, MNA Shakil Awan, MNA Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, MNA Khurram Dastagir, MNA Khurram Jahangir Wattoo (Manzoor Wattoos son), MNA Hamid Yar Hiraj, MNA Awais Leghari, MNA Jamshed Dasti, MNA Khush Bakht Shujaat and others. The names of some other prominent parliamentarians were included in the ECP list for the suspension of their parliamentary memberships but were omitted upon the submission of wealth details by these MPs. They include Deputy Speaker National Assembly Faisal Karim Kundi, Communication Minister Arbab Alamgir, his wife MNA Asma Arbab Alamgir, MNA Raza Hayat Hiraj and some 'less popular MPs. Secretary ECP Ishtiak Ahmed Khan had written a letter to the Secretary Senate Secretariat Raja Amin on Thursday to inform that the memberships of 16 Senators would be cancelled should they failed to submit their wealth details by Monday. The last date for the submission of these details was October 10 and extended date been October 15. Following criticism in media on its inability to proceed against the MPs, the ECP suspended the membership of a record number of parliamentarians Friday for the first time in its history. The suspended MPs would not be allowed to attend any parliaments sessions or participate in the meetings of parliamentary committees unless they submit their required financial statements to get the respective memberships reinstated. In case the parliamentarians tend to violate the rules and keep attending parliamentary sessions, the ECP has no effective mechanism to take action other than communicating to the respective parliamentary assemblies and Senate to take action. The ECP officials claim the Election Commission has finalised a mechanism after hectic consultations with Federal Board of Revenue (FBR), its parent organisation Finance Ministry, Accountant General Pakistan Revenues (AGPR) and Auditor General of Pakistan to take to task those MPs who submit false and erroneous details of their wealth each year. Any such mechanism however is yet to be implemented. Last month on September 10, Indian Chief Election Commissioner Shahabuddin Yaqoob Quraishi had visited ECP. The Election Commission of India (ECI) and ECP had decided exchanging electoral expertise on political finance and a host of other electoral matters. The Indian politicians found guilty of irregularities are imprisoned and disqualified for holding public offices. The election officials of both the countries reportedly agreed to cooperate for introducing these electoral laws in Pakistan. This development was unearthed by this newspaper on September 11.