Polling in the second phase of elections to Lok Sabha began on a moderate note on Thursday during which the fate of prominent leaders such as Rahul Gandhi, Sharad Pawar, George Fernandes, Ramvilas Paswan and Sushma Swaraj will be decided. Voting began on Thursday morning in 140 constituencies spread across 12 States in the second round of the five-phased elections and would end at 5 pm in most places, except in naxal-infested areas where it would close at 3 pm. Over 19 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise on Thursday across 2 lakh polling stations, guarded by tens of thousands of police and paramilitary personnel. The second phase will also see completion of polling to the Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh (140 seats) and Orissa (77). There are 121 women in the fray in this phase. The States to be covered are Andhra Pradesh (20 Lok Sabha seats), Assam (11), Bihar (13), Goa (2), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Karnataka (17), Madhya Pradesh (13), Maharashtra (25), Orissa (11), Tripura (2), Uttar Pradesh (17) and Jharkhand (8). While Mr. Rahul Gandhi is seeking re-election from the Nehru-Gandhi family pocket-borough of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, Mr. Pawar is contesting from the newly created seat of Madha in Maharashtra and Mr. Fernandes from Muzaffarpur in Bihar. Other prominent candidates include Ms. Swaraj from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh and Mr. Paswan from Hajipur in Bihar. While Union Commerce and Industry Minister Kamal Nath is contesting from the Chhindwara constituency in Madhya Pradesh, other noteworthy names include Akhilesh Prasad Singh (Purvi Champaran, Bihar), Raghuvansh Prasad Singh (Vaishali, Bihar) and Raghunath Jha (Valmikinagar, Bihar). Tight security arrangements have been put in place, especially in naxal-infested States, to thwart any attempt by the ultras to disrupt the elections. The Andhra Assembly elections will decide the fate of Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy who is contesting from Pulivendla, his rival and TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu from Kuppam and actor-turned-politician Chiranjeevi from Tirupati among others. In Orissa, BJD chief Naveen Patnaik is aiming for a third straight term in office.