SADIQABAD - At the workers’ convention also attended by central leadership of the All Pakistan Muslim League, the Rahim Yar Khan office-bearers have been elected.

Mushtaq Ahmad was elected as district president, Mian Iftekhar Ali as secretary general and Amjad Nazir as Sadiqabad city president. The party’s provincial president has issued a notification in this regard. The convention was attended by APML Punjab President Muhammad Ashraf, Chief Organiser Naeem Tahir, Punjab Secretary General Naeem Tahir and Secretary Information Syeda Saima Ali.

On the occasion, speakers termed the convention a success, saying that the new officeholders had been assigned duty to organise the party in the district. They expressed the hope that the newly-elected office-bearers would make an all-out effort to make the party a power in the district. They were of the view that to save the country, Pervez Musharraf’s coming to power was necessary. They said that no act of corruption on the part of the former president had been proved so far. They added that Musharraf stopped the way of looters and put the country on the path to progress.

“Today, the poor have no access to even one-time meal in the present  skyrocketing dearness. If we make comparison between the commodities’ prices of Musharraf’s era with those of today, the difference will be evident. The present rulers are looting the coutnry. Only Musharraf is the only leader who thinks about the coutnry, the speakers observed. “He will soon return to Pakistan. The development projects carried out in the last regime  were more than those of the last 65 year.”

LEADER SEE PLOT AGAINST PPP: A meeting of the PPP South  Punjab was held here.

Under the chair of secretary public relations Chaudhry Jahanzeb, the meeting was attended by office-bearers and activists from all the four tehsils and districts. The meeting pledged fight on war footing to thwart what they believed propaganda against the PPP government and the workers.

On the occasion, Jahanzeb said that their opponents were carrying out propaganda against his party and workers, adding that it would not be tolerated. The participants included Azeem Solangi Advocate, People’s Lawyers Forum President Liaqat Ali, Mirza Ameen, Muhammad Anwar Hashmi, Akbar Bhutto, Khalid Shah, Fazal Ahmad Saleemi, Muhammad Alam, Jamil Mirza, Haider Chughtai, Rehmani Baloch and Amjad Saleem.