LONDON - World champions India and Pakistan are clubbed in the same pool for the 2013 Champions Trophy in England and Wales. India's opening match however will be against South Africa in Cardiff on June 6 next year.

Meanwhile hosts England will begin the tournament by playing defending champions and old rivals Australia at Birmingham's Edgbaston ground. The Champions Trophy, the "mini World Cup", features the world's eight leading nations in 50-over cricket. Next year Group A will include Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka while India, Pakistan, South Africa and the West Indies will compete in Group B. As well as Cardiff and Edgbaston, The Oval in south London will also stage Champions Trophy fixtures, with the final at Edgbaston on June 23.

One of the standout group fixtures will be the clash between sub-continental rivals India and Pakistan in Birmingham, which has one of Britain's largest South Asian populations, on June 15. "This will be a terrific opportunity for fans to see the world's very best one-day sides in action over the space of less than three weeks and the fixture schedule has thrown up a host of exciting head-to-head contests," said tournament director  Steve Elworthy, after the  release of the fixtures on Tuesday.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 schedule

Venues:    The Oval (London), Edgbaston (Birmingham), Cardiff

Group A:    Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka

Group B:    India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies


Group stage

Jun 06:    India v South Africa (Day) - Cardiff

Jun 07:    West Indies v Pakistan (Day) - The Oval

Jun 08:    England v Australia (Day) - Edgbaston

Jun 09:    Sri Lanka v New Zealand (Day) - Cardiff

Jun 10:    Pakistan v South Africa (Day) - Edgbaston

Jun 11:    India v West Indies (Day) - The Oval

Jun 12:    Australia v New Zealand (Day/Night) - Edgbaston

Jun 13:    England v Sri Lanka (Day/Night) - The Oval

Jun 14:    West Indies v South Africa (Day) - Cardiff

Jun 15:    India v Pakistan (Day) - Edgbaston

Jun 16:    England v New Zealand (Day) - Cardiff

Jun 17:    Sri Lanka v Australia (Day/Night) - The Oval


Jun 19:    Semi-final A1 v B2 (Day) - The Oval

Jun 20:    Semi-final A2 v B1 (Day) - Cardiff

Jun 23:    Final (Day) - Edgbaston