ISLAMABAD - As expected PTI candidate Asad Umar has defeated ruling PML-N candidate Ch Ashraf Gujjar from NA-48 constituency of capital Islamabad with a margin of around 7,000 votes.

According to unofficial results, Pakistan Tehreek-I-Insaf candidate secured 48,033 votes while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate bagged 41,186 votes.

PTI stalwart Makhdoom Javid Hashmi had won this seat in the general elections but he relinquished it because of his victory at multiple seats. But contrary to the expectation of political analysts of one-sided elections in favour of PTI candidate, Ch Ashraf Gujjar gave tough time to Asad Umar.