PESHAWAR - Sharqi Police Peshawar registered an FIR against wining candidate of NA-01 Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour in the wake of aerial firing opened by his workers in his constituency on Thursday night.

Police said as per law if any person resorts to aerial firing in support of a candidate winning the election, FIR will be registered against the person who wins the polls. Police said FIR had been registered against Bilour under the prevailing law.

Meanwhile, in a major blow to Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf in Peshawar, Awami National Party remained victorious on NA-01 and PK-23 Mardan while Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf, JUI-F along with two independent candidates each secured one seat of NA-13, PK-70, PK-42 and PK-27 respectively.

According to un-official result on NA-13 PTI Aqibullah Khan won the by-election by securing 35,749 votes defeating his rival Maulana Attaul Haq Darvesh of JUI-F who secured 26,996 votes. Aqibullah Khan was a joint candidate of six-party alliance and Attaullah Darvesh was a joint candidate of JUI-F, ANP and PPP. The newly-elected MNA is the brother of Speaker KP Assembly Asad Qaiser.

On PK-23 Mardan, Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Haji Ahmed Khan Bahadur won his seat and bagged 13,339 votes while PTI candidate Umar Farooq obtained 12,493 votes.

In Hango, the PK-42 seat won by Shah Faisal, a brother of slain MPA Farid Khan, securing 32,114 votes against his independent opponent Syed Hussain who got 10,000 votes

In Bannu, JUI-F Azam Durrani secured 23,501 votes by defeating PTI candidate Malik Adnan who secured 19,531 votes.

ANP’s Ghulam Ahmed Bilour won NA-1 (Peshawar-1) seat in the by-poll defeating his PTI competitor Gul Badshah by securing 29,178 votes. Badshah managed to bag 19,464 votes.

All eyes had been on NA-one Peshawar and Bilour was lucky to get back his seat with the support of the PPP and JUI-F. PTI had the support of Jamaat-e-Islami. The ANP supporters celebrated the victory by resorting to aerial firing after Bilour’s victory.

Talking to media persons, Bilour complained the ANP campaign never got as much airtime as PTI’s during the general elections. The ANP provincial assembly candidate Ahmed Khan also won Mardan seat that was vacated by Amir Haider Khan Hoti, the former KPK chief minister. He had retained the NA seat from Mardan. PTI’s candidate Omar Farooq was defeated on Mardan seat.

Amidst tough security arrangements polling for NA-01 bye-polls completed with low turnout as compared with May 11 elections while scuffles also erupted at several places of the city injuring many workers of both ANP and PTI.

Personnel of security forces including Frontier Corps, Elite Force and anti-terrorism squad had been deployed at various polling stations where the voters peacefully cost their vote of choice.

Turn out remained low and there was no much enthusiasm among the workers like May 11 elections. In NA-01 (Peshawar) total 225 polling stations were established while the total number of registered voters were 3,25,000.

In Sheikhabad area, Ghulam Ahmad Bilour’s daughter and female workers of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf had a scuffle in which several persons on both sides were slightly injured. An eye witness said ANP workers also exchanged hot words with security forces during polling process.

Talking to The Nation Mr Waheed, a voter from NA-01 Gulbahar area, said he polled his vote in favor of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf. He said earlier to this he was senior activist of Pakistan People’s Party but since May 11 elections he had changed his political party and given a chance to Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf.

He said polling was completed in extremely peaceful atmosphere and both male and female voters visited polling stations for casting their votes. He added that they were satisfied with security arrangements made by Pakistan Army and police to avert any terror bid.

Returning Officer, Sheber Khan, talking to media persons said elections were held in a good and peaceful environment. He said polling started timely and stopped at 5:00 pm.

It is interesting to note here that in NA-1 (Peshawar-I) constituency PTI’s dissident Samad Mursaleen, insisted on contesting the polls independently when he was refused a party ticket. On this, he was asked to leave the party. Mursaleen later named his party as ‘Tehrik-e-Insaf Nazriati’.

Before Bilour’s massive defeat on May 11, NA-1 held a symbolic importance for the ANP as this constituency had been the base of its politics in the province. A victory here can impact the future course of the political landscape against the ruling PTI. The impact of these by-elections could be a game changer in Peshawar.

Meanwhile, complaints were made to Election Commission regarding barring of women voters from visiting the polling stations and casting their votes. The election commission has made it clear that stopping women from casting vote was a crime and the electoral body would count votes of women and men separately.

The ECP contacted candidates in Lakki Marwat (NA-27) after the electoral body received complaints via telephone that women voters were being barred from casting ballots in by-polls. The acting chief election commissioner also took notice of the situation in Nowshera following which women were allowed to cast their votes.

Taking notice of the ban on woman to cast their votes, Chief Justice Peshawar High Court has ordered election commission to stop the results of the constituency till further orders. Chief Justice also directed to arrest the Jirga members who had barred the woman from costing votes.