LAHORE - Qila Gujar Singh Police have registered an FIR against PPP Punjab President Rana Aftab Ahmad, Secretary General Samiullah Khan, party City President Chaudhry Asghar Gujjar, Senator Faisal Raza Abidi and 250 other persons for staging protest demonstrations against Supreme Court verdict, and burning effigies of Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry outside the Press Club on February 14 last. The case has been registered on the complaint of Qila Gujar Singh Police Station SHO Malik Taimour. Police sources, however, maintained that the case was registered the same day ie, Feb 14, but was not made public owing to various reasons. Former President Azizur Rehman Chan, Secretary Information Fakhrud Din Ch, MPAs Azma Bokhari, Faiza Malik, Sajida Mir, Hajra Anees, Raheela Zareen, Malik Ilyas alias Lacha, Syed Manzoor Hussain Gilani, Munir Ahmed Khan and about 200 unidentified PPP leaders were also included in the FIR registered under Sections 223, 290, 291, 16-MPO, 500, 504 and 506. Talking to The Nation here Monday, SP Civil Lines Dr Haider Ashraf said that a pure legal procedure would be followed in the light of the Constitution, and all those (accused) mentioned in the FIR would be arrested at any cost. They will have to seek bail from the court, the SP said, adding that the police would not favour any accused. In reply to a query, Dr Haider said it was baseless that any political party was 'backing the police. It is a punitive action purely taken by the police. Incharge investigation and raiding police teams had not been constituted till now, he maintained and assured that the police would pursue the case through proper channel. According to the FIR the PPP leaders and workers had used derogatory language for CJP Iftikhar Ch while condemning the SC verdict in a shameful way, a police source confided. On the other side, when contacted SP Investigation Civil Lines Mohammad Shahzad Asif Khan expressed his ignorance over any development about the issue due to his absence in the City on Monday. It may be mentioned that the PPP leaders and workers had held a rally in front of the Lahore Press Club on Feb 14 protesting the SC ruling regarding taking suo moto action by the CJP against President Asif Zardaris decision wherein he appointed Lahore High Court (LHC) Chief Justice Khawaja Sharif as a judge of the Supreme Court, and LHC senior judge Saqib Nisar as LHC chief justice. The rallying protesters had said that President Zardari had not taken any unconstitutional step while appointing judges to superior courts. PPP Punjab President Rana Aftab had stated that the PPP always adhered to the observance of law, and never resorted to any move aimed at violating the Constitution. Senator Faisal Raza Abidi had said the PPP leaders and workers had always rendered numerous sacrifices for the restoration of democracy and would obstruct every move meant to destabilise the present democratic setup. Ch Asghar Gujar had said that the President had appointed the judges in accordance with the Constitution. Reportedly, the PPP leaders and workers had also burnt the effigies of CJP Iftikhar Ch and PML-N Quaid Mian Nawaz Sharif during their protest rally.