Sports Desk

LAHORE – Punjab women’s team defeated Federal team by 17 runs in the opening match of Pool A in the inaugural Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Women Cricket Challenge Trophy 2012 here at the Kinnaird College Ground on Sunday.

Batting first, Punjab were bundled out for 114 in 18.4 overs. Ayesha Qazi scored 39 of 32 ball with seven boundaries and Sana Gulzar made 19 with three four and a six. From Federal Team Hina Shafiq (2/12),  Marium Hasan (2/15) and  Saima Maqsood (2/30) bowled well.

In reply, Federal team could manage 97 for the loss of 4 wickets in the allotted 20 overs despite fine batting from Marium Hasan 63, laced with six fours and a six. For Punjab Namra Imran and Sana Gulzar took one wicket each. Marium Hasan Shah was declaed player of the match for her all-round performance.

Samera Aftab and Riffat Mustafa supervised the match while Khalid Niazi acted as match referee and Masood Ahmed was the official scorer of the match.

ZTBL outplay Sindh:

In a Pool B match, ZTBL defeated Sindh by 117 runs here at the Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday.

Batting first, ZTBL piled up 169 for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Kanita Jalil 37, Bismah Maroof 36, and Sana Mir unbeaten 26 and Nain Abidi 26 made good contributions. Aimen Anwar (2/21) bowled well from Sindh.

In reply, Sindh succumbed to huge total’s pressure and were bundled out for 52 in 15 overs.  Sumaiya (13) was the only player who entered the double figure.  Marina Iqbal  (3/13) and Sana Mir (3/2) bowled well from Punjab. Sana Mir was declared player of the match.

 Kausar Shah and Shakeela Rafiq supervised the match while Saadat Ali was the match referee and Najmus Saeed was the official scorer.

Balochistan beat Sindh:

In the second Pool B match of the tournament played here at the Gaddafi Stadium, Balochistan defeated Sindh by 7 wickets. 

Batting first, Sindh were bowled out for 92 in 15.2 overs. Khadija Chishti made 26 and Zaveria Ruaf scored 13 runs.. From Balochistan Eliesbath Khan got 3/15 and Almas Akram took 2/25.

In reply Balochistan achieved the victory target after losing 3 wickets in 17.5 overs. Iram Khalid (36), Arman Khan (20) and Sajida Shah (19) made good contributions. Arman Anwar and Shumaila Qureshi grabbed one wicket each. Eliezbath Khan of Balochistan was adjudged player of the match.

Earlier, Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan inaugurated Shaheed Benazir Bhutto Women Cricket Challenge Trophy at the Kinnaird College cricket ground. Talking to the media, she said the women cricket initiative would help dispel a distorted and negative image of the country regarding women rights, adding that it would raise a soft image of Pakistan internationally. She said the women cricket tournament was the first step towards economic empowerment of women in the country.