LAHORE - An anti-terrorism court yesterday framed charges against six members of a banned outfit in 2009 Sri Lankan cricket team attack case.

The suspects, however, refused to accept the charges pleading that they were not involved in attacking the team. They also announced contesting the trail during an in-camera proceeding in Kot Lakhpat jail.

The suspects included Obaidullah, Javed Anwar, Zubair, Ibrahim Khalil, Abdul Wahab and Adnan Arshad.  The first three suspects were on bail while others were behind the bars.

Two other suspects namely Mohsin Rasheed and Abdul Rehman were declared as proclaimed offenders. ATC Chaudhry Azam held the proceedings and adjourned further hearing until June 30 with directions to the prosecution department to produce more witnesses.

Malik Ishaq, the alleged mastermind of the attack, was killed last year in July during a cross firing between personnel of counter terrorism department and militants who tried to get their leader from the officials’ custody in Muzaffargarh.   Gulberg police registered case against Ishaq

Gulberg police had registered a case against Ishaq and others for their involvement in the attack.