ISLAMABAD - Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry in pursuance of Article 217 of the Constitution on Thursday nominated Justice Shakirullah Jan as acting Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan.

CEC Justice (r) Hamid Ali Mirza is retiring today (Friday) upon completion of his three-year tenure.

Justice Mian Shakirullah Jan will be the Acting Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan with effect from March 24. On Thursday, the Election Commission of Pakistan has notified the nomination of Justice Mian Shakirullah as acting CEC. The Chief Justice will take oath from Justice Shakirullah on 24th.