After Wimbledon, the French Open championship, to be played from May 23 to June 6 at Roland Garros, is probably the most coveted Tennis Grand Slam title. It is considered the unofficial World Championship on clay and is one of the oldest tournament in the sport. For the fifth consecutive year, the tournament will begin on Sunday. After the success of the Sunday start in last four years, eight extra matches are programmed for this year bringing the total to 32, with 16 mens singles and 16 womens singles. The history of the championship dates back to 1891 when the first meet was held in the sports society of the Ile de Puteaux in Sience near Paris. The tournament was only for Frenchmen with J Biggs winning the inaugural event. The championship for women was first held in 1897 and F Masson was emerged as the first champion. Australian Jack Crawford was the first foreigner to win French Open when he claimed it in 1933. Favourite Rafael Nadal must negotiate a tricky path in his bid for a fifth French Open title following the draw for the claycourt Grand Slam. World number two Nadal, however, did not seem too worried by his fate as he was spotted practising on a sunbathed centre court while holders Roger Federer and Svetlana Kuznetsova were making the draw. Rafel Nadal, beaten for the first time at Roland Garros last year, is in the same half as fellow Spaniard Fernando Verdasco and third seed Novak Djokovic of Serbia. World number one Federer takes on Australian Peter Luczak in the first round en route to a possible fifth French Open final against Rafael Nadal, whom he has never beaten at Roland Garros. Holder Kuznetsova, seeded sixth, had an easier draw with a possible quarter-final match against Dane Caroline Wozniacki, the third seed. She then could face second seed Venus Williams in the semi-finals, but the American will not have it easy to get there. Most titles: Australian Margaret Court holds the record of winning the highest number of titles at French Open. She has won the 13 titles between 1962 and 1973, comprising five singles, four womens doubles and four mixed doubles. Most titles by a male player: The record of most number of titles by a male player is held by Frenchman Henri Cochet who has won nine titles between 1926 and 1930, comprising four singles, three doubles and two mixed doubles. Most mens singles titles: Swedens Bjorn Borg who won six titles between 1974 and 1986, helds the record of winning the highest number of single titles in this championship. Most womens singles titles: The record of most womans single titles is held by Chris Evert of United States. She has won seven titles between 1974 and 1986. Most mens double titles (pair): Frenchmen Jacques Brugnon and Henri Cochet holds the record of most mens doubles titles. They have won three doubles titles between 1927 and 1932 Most womens doubles titles (pair): Shirly Fry and Doris Hart (both United States) have won four womens double titles between 1950 and 1953 which is most in this championship. Most mens double titles (single): Australian Roy Emerson holds the record of most double titles. He has won six consecutive doubles titles with five different partners between 1960 and 1965. Most womens doubles titles (single): The record of most womens double titles by a single player is held by American Martina Navratilova who has won seven womene double titles with different partners between 1982 and 1988. Most mixed doubles titles: Australian Ken Fletcher and Margaret Smith holds the record of most mixed double titles. They have won three titles between 1963 and 1965. Youngest champion: The youngest mens champions was Michael Chang of United States. He won the mens single titles in 1989 when he was 17 year and three month old. The youngest womens champion was American Monica Seles. She was 16 years and six month old when she won the womens single title in 1990. Oldest champion: The oldest champion was Andres Gimeno of Spain. He won the only title in 1972 at 34 years and 10 months. The oldest womens champion was Zsuzsi Kormoczy of Hungary. She was 33 years old when she won the only title in 1958. Nine or more titles: Player Period Singles Doubles Mixed Total Margaret Court (Aus) 1962-73 5 4 4 13 Martina Navratilova (USA) 1974-88 2 7 2 11 Simone Mathie (France) 1933-39 2 6 2 10 Doris Hart (USA) 1948-53 2 5 3 10 Henri Cochet (France) 1926-30 4 3 2 9 Francoise Durr (France) 1967-73 1 5 3 9 Chris Evert (USA) 1974-86 7 2 - 9 Prize Money: The overall prize money at the tournament has been increased by 4.05 % and this year stands at 16,807,400 euros. Prize Money (in euros): Championship 2008 2009 2010 Mens Singles 5,425,280 5,590,800 5,792,000 Womens Singles 5,425,280 5,590,800 5,792,000 Mens Doubles 1,284,400 1,346,400 1,392,000 Womens Doubles 1,284,400 1,346,400 1,392,000 Mixed Double 100,000 100,000 100,000 Total 15,575,960 16, 150,460 16,807,400