ISLAMABAD The maiden meeting of the eight-member Parliamentary Committee has partially devised its rules and regulations but could not agree on appointment of its chairman, as a few opposition members suggested that the slot of chairman of the Committee should rotate between the treasury and opposition members. Out of the eight members, Senator Ishaq Dar and Senator Sabir Baloch could not attend the meeting due to personal reasons, while the Committee was temporarily headed by Leader of the House in Senate, Syed Nayyar Bokhari. The Committee discussed the rules to run the Committees affairs and after having little debate on the issue of chairman rose for the day to meet again on November 24, as the members differed on the issue because Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain proposed that the slot of chairman should rotate between the treasury and the opposition members. Sources in the Committee informed TheNation that the Committee was supposed to take up the first official assignment of making decision on the recommendation of Justice Ejaz Ahmad Chaudhry as Chief Justice of Lahore High Court. The Judicial Commission recommended the name of Justice Ejaz on November 14 and the Committee is required to accomplish the task within 14 days from the date of recommendation. Sources in the Committee informed that the Government could use the slot of the chairman to woo opposition partys support on Revised General Sales Tax (RGST) Bill and most probably it could go to PML-Q, President Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain in case they would able to slice some deal with the ruling alliance. Talking to the media persons after the meeting, Syed Nayyar Hussain Bokhari said that he headed the meeting on advice of Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, adding that the Committee was given the mandate to form rules and regulations to run the affairs of the Committee in the light of the 18th Constitutional Amendment. To a question, he said that the Committee would work above the party interests and its chairman would be selected with consensus on Wednesday when the Committee would meet again. He stated that the recommendations of the Judicial Commission regarding the selection of Justice Ejaz Ahmad Chaudhry for the slot of Chief Justice of Lahore High Court would be discussed once the Committee finalised its working statutes. Besides Syed Nayyar Hussain Bokhari, Sardar Mehtab Khan Abbasi, Asma Arbab Alamgir, Aftab Shaban Mirani, Ghous Baksh Mehar, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain and Secretary Senate, Raja Amin, attended the meeting.