LAHORE - Federal Secretary Housing and Works Kamran Lashari was elected the new president of Old Ravians Union (ORU) unopposed as all the other candidates for the post withdrew their nomination papers in favour of the noted bureaucrat, it was revealed on Thursday by ORU Elections committee comprising District and Session Judge Tahir Pervaiz, Advocate Supreme Court Javiad Altaf and GCU Political Science Department Chairperson Dr Khalid Manzoor.

Dr Khalid Manzoor Butt said that it was the second consecutive elections when the president of the union was elected unopposed. Two years back, noted nuclear scientist Dr Samar Mubarikmand was also elected president of the union unopposed.

Kamran Lashari studied at the Government College Lahore for four years from 1967 to 1971 and did his Intermediate and Graduation from there. He was captain of GCU Swimming Team and was also awarded Academic Roll of Honor by his alma mater in sports.

GCU VC Dr Khaleeq-ur-Rahman congratulated the Kamran Lashari on his unopposed election to the office of the president of the Old Ravians Union. He also highlighted the invaluable contributions of Kamran Lashari in various development sectors. He acknowledged that Kamran Lashari despite his busy schedule has always spared time for the guidance of young scholars and researchers of his alma mater.

Later, the ORU Election Committee also announced that noted businessman Mansoor Feroze Khan, Mrs Kiran Khurshid, Advocate Mian M. Ahmad Chhachhar and Sajad Haider Rizvi are also elected the union’s Vice President, Vice President (ladies), General Secretary and Treasurer unopposed respectively. Former federal secretary Qazi Afaq Hussain and former test cricketer are also elected Executive Member (1961-1970) and Executive Member (1951-1960) unopposed respectively.  

However, the election committee said that election for the other seats including Executive Member 1980s, Executive Member 1990s and Executive Member (2000-2012) would be held as per schedule on December 02, 2012. The polling would be held at the Government College University Lahore Old Hall from 10:00a.m to 4:00 pm.

The outgoing ORU president, Dr Samar Mubarikmand, did not contest election this year for personal reasons.