PESHAWAR - Joint opposition in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly formally withdrew the no-confidence motion filed against Chief Minister Pervez Khattak. The KP Assembly will meet today (Thursday).

A meeting of the parliamentary leaders in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly was held here in the Assembly Secretariat on Wednesday. During the meeting, the opposition decided to withdraw the no-confidence motion against the chief minister.

The opposition leaders later withdrew their no-confidence motion submitted with the assembly secretariat. The motion was carrying the signatures of 36 members from the opposition parties which included JUI-F, ANP, PML-N, PPP and QWP.

However, on contact, Spokesman of the Leader of Opposition Maulana Lutf-ur-Rehman neither confirmed nor denied the report. He said that a meeting of the joint opposition is scheduled on Thursday before starting of the session of provincial assembly to decide the matter.

The PTI and its coalition partners are in majority in the House and lack of the required number of legislators with opposition, the chances of the motion’s success were bleak.

On August 14 last, when the PTI launched sit-in movement against the PML-N government in the centre, there were widespread speculations that PTI Chairman Imran Khan could use the dissolution of the provincial assembly as a trump card to force Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif into announcing midterm elections in the country.

The JUI-F, having majority of seats among opposition parties in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, was out to oust the ruling PTI in the province from power corridor by making the no-trust motion successful, however, it did not convince the remaining opposition partners even the PML-N, which is in power in the centre.


Like other parts of the country, on the call of party central Chairman Imran Khan, activists of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf(PTI)  Wednesday staged a protest demonstration against increase in power tariff. 

The protest demo in provincial metropolis Peshawar was led by PTI provincial leaders, including Peshawar President Yasin Khalil, Advisor to Chief Minister Arif Yousaf advocate, PTI Provincial Secretary Information MNA Aysha Gulalai, Israr Bacha, PTI Fata Organising committee member Iqbal Afridi, Liaquat Yousafzai and Ilyas Khalil of Youth Wing. The protesting activists gathered outside press club.

They were holding placards and banners inscribed with slogans against the incumbent PML-N-led federal government and Wapda authorities for increase in power tariff and PEMRA authorities for imposing ban on a private TV channel.

The infuriated protestors also chanted full-throated slogans against the government, asking to revise the tariff forthwith.

Addressing the protestors on the occasion, PTI leaders strongly condemned the incumbent PML-N government for increase in power tariff and said that due to pressure of PTI Chairman Imran Khan, the rulers were compelled to take back the increase made in power tariff overnight but extra charges still existed in utility bills.

They said that they did not pay utility bills last month on the call of PTI Chairman Imran Khan and this month too they will not pay the bills.

They asked the federal government and power companies to revise the increased power tariff forthwith, otherwise threatened to launch a movement against the government across the country.