ISLAMABAD -  Pakistan’s longest serving No 1 tennis player Aqeel Khan clinched the 1st Chairman POF Board National Ranking Tennis Championship 2016 title after routing M Abid in the final played at Ordinance Club on Saturday.

Aqeel had a point to prove against Abid, as in the recent past encounters, Abid was becoming a nemesis for him and had posed serious threat to the champion. Despite losing, Abid was grabbing the headlines and was tipped to soon dislodge Aqeel from the No 1 tag.

Aqeel started the final on a high note, and went on to win first two sets 6-1 and 6-1 by breaking 3rd and 5th games. Abid did pose some serious challenge in the third set and held his serve to 3-3, before Aqeel once again changed gears and wrapped up the set 6-3. Aqeel received Rs 150,000 and trophy, while Abid got Rs 60,000 and runner-up trophy.

It was double delight for Aqeel as partnering Aqeel Shahzad Khan, he won the men’s doubles title by defeating M Abid/Usman Rafiq in a well-contested three-set match. Abid/Usman won the first set 6-1 by playing aggressive game from the baselines and outplayed top seed Aqeel/Shahzad, however, in the second set, they faced resistance from their opponents as the score was 5-all, and then it was 7-5. The match was decided on the tie break, which Aqeel/Shahzad won by 10-5 and earned Rs 32,000, whereas Abid/Usman pocketed Rs 16000 along with trophies.

Aman Atiq Khan won the boys’ U-18 singles title by thrashing Yousaf Khan in a one-sided affair. Aman won the title without conceding a single game in both the sets. Earlier in the  semifinal, he stunned top seed Muzammil Murtaza in three sets. Aman got Rs 20,000 and Yousaf got Rs 12,000. In the boys’ U-14, M Shoaib beat Hamza bin Rehan in three-set encounter 4-6, 6-1, 6-3 to lift the title. In the seniors 45 plus doubles final, Jehanzeb/Israr beat Irfan/Nauman Aleem 6-3 and 7-5.

Lt Gen Omer Mehmood Hayat HI (M), Chairman POF Board, was the chief guest on the occasion, while PTF president Salim Saifullah Khan, Iftikhar Rashid, M Khalid Rehmani, Col Gul Rehman, Dr Aamir Murad, Asad Durraniwere present on the final. ITF official Shahzad Akhtar Alvi was the referee. A total of Rs 500,000 were distributed amongst the players.