Karachi - The Pakistani Academy Selection Committee has selected “Mah-e-Mir” to be submitted for Oscar consideration in the ‘Foreign Language Film Award’ category at the 89th Academy Awards. The movie was selected by way of a secret ballot and was the overwhelming film of choice of the Committee members. As per standard practice, films selected by each individual country’s Academy selection committee are submitted to the Academy for screening, shortlisting and voting withofficial Oscar nominees announced at a later date. In 2013, the Pakistani Academy Selection Committee selected “ZindaBhaag” as the first Pakistani film in over fifty years to be submitted for Oscar consideration in the ‘Foreign Language Film Award’ category, followed by “Dukhtar” in 2014 and “Moor” in 2015.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will choose the final nominees for all award categories including Best Foreign Language Film inJanuary 2017. The complete and final list of Oscar nominees will be announced on 24thJanuary 2017 with the presentation show forthe 89thAcademy Awards scheduled to take place on 26thFebruary 2017.81 films were submitted for Oscar consideration in the Best Foreign Language Film category at the 88thAcademy Awards held earlier this year.

The Pakistani Academy Selection Committee was chaired by two-time Academy Award and Emmy winning documentary filmmaker SharmeenObaidChinoy which included IramParveen Bilal as the charge d’affaires, ZebaBakhtiar, Adnan Siddiqui, HasanZaidi, SheemaKermani, SarmadKhoosat, JamshedMahmoodRaza, JamilDehlavi and Adnan Sarwar.

‘Mah-e-Mir’, directed by AnjumShahzad and written by SarmadSehbai, is set in contemporary times which chronicles the life of a young anarchist poet while denouncing tradition, goes through the sufferings of love, separation and poverty which drives him into madness, where he discovers the 18th century poet Meer Taqi Meer. In his poetic journey he embodies the intense love, passion and creative madness of the poet. The film features Fahad Mustafa, Iman Ali, SanamSaeed, Alyy Khan and ManzarSehbai.