KARACHI A brief week-long training camp of Pakistan hockey team probable began here Friday morning in right earnest with 29 players appearing in the early morning training here at the Hockey Club of Pakistan. Muhammad Imran, who could not reach the city because of travel plans, missed morning training but would join the camp some time later. With him reporting in the camp, the strength at the camp would swell to 30. Pakistan national selection committee about four days ago had picked 33 probables for the camp training and selection of an 18-member team for seven-nation Azlan Shah International Hockey in Ipoh, Malaysia, early in May 6. Three of the 33, Zeeshan Ashraf, Waseem Ahmed and Akhtar Ali have already been excluded from the camp after they cited fatigue as reason and requested to the PHF not to be included in the training process and selection for Azlan Shah team. The PHF took the wise decision and agreed to the request of the players and decided to exclude them from entire selection process. Newly appointed coach of Pakistan seniors KM Junaid along with his assistant coaches Ahmed Alam and Ajmal Khan supervised the morning training session which included physical training and individual stick work. The evening session would include individual training, various playing drills followed by an hour-long competition between teams picked from amongst the probable. Though in the recent past Pakistan may not have an impressive record at Azlan Shah Hockey yet it has thrice won the event in 1999, 2000 and 2003. Former Olympian goalkeeper Ahmed Alam now working with the team as an assistant coach was part of gold medal winning team in those years. The former keeper is expected to carry the same luck when he accompanies the team to Ipoh on May 3. 30 trainees at the camp are: Goalkeepers: Nasir Ahmed (PIA), Imran Shah (HBL), Imran Butt (PIA). Fullbacks: Sohail Abbas (Wapda), Muhammad Imran (Army), Wasif Siddiqui (NBP), Kashif Ali (PIA), Muhammad Ateeq (NBP). Halfbacks: Muhammad Irfan (PIA), Farid Ahmed (HBL), Muhammad Rashid (Navy), Sajjad Anwar (Wapda), Muhammad Tauseeq (NBP), Aamir Shahzad (PIA), Usman Tariq (SSGC), Zaheer Ahmed (PIA), Zeeshan Ali (HBL). Forwards: Rehan Butt (Wapda), Shakeel Abbasi (SSGC), Muhammad Zubair (PIA), Haseem Khan (NBP), Muhammad Rizwan (Army), Umar Bhutta (HBL),Waqas Shariff (Wapda), Shafqat Rasool (PIA), Muhammad Bilal (KESC), Adeel Hussain (HBL), Shahbaz Ali (HBL), Kashif Ali (Army), Abdul Qayyum (HBL).