ISLAMABAD - After the break of around six months, the headless Public Accounts Committee (PAC) meeting has been summoned on Wednesday (tomorrow) to elect its new chairman which would most likely be a Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) member.The member of opposition parties might raise objection referring clause of the CoD signed by Nawaz Sharif and Benazir Bhutto five years back if the chairman slot was filled with PPP’s contender, PML-N sources shared with TheNation on Monday. The clause says chairmen of the public accounts committees in national and provincial assemblies will be appointed by the leaders of the opposition in these houses, as Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan had got this position courtesy of the CoD.Sources said it was quite possible that other opposition parties would not take part in the process to elect new chairman as the PML-N had already made it clear that it would not contest for the slot.The PAC meeting to elect its new chairman has been summoned on a day when National Assembly (NA) will also be in session on the same day (Wednesday). It is relevant to mention here that the previous chairman Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly, had also dissolved all the PAC’s special committees and sub-committee. Appointment of Akhtar Buland Rana as Auditor General of Pakistan (AGP) and non-compliance of PAC’s directives by the government had reportedly compelled Ch Nisar to dissolve the PAC sub-committee. The parliamentary committee was likely to discuss audit objections relating to the present government starting from its first year, 2008, after the appointment of new chairman. The parliamentary committee (PAC) after becoming dysfunctional had disposed of the audit objections till 2007, besides approving reports for the years 1990-91, 1992-93, 1994-95, 1997-98, 2002-02, 2008-09, which had been laid in the National Assembly (NA).It is relevant to mention here that names of PPP’s legislators Nadeem Afzal Gondal, Qamar Zaman Kaira, Yasmeen Rehman, and PML-Q members Riaz Pirzada, Riaz Fatiyana could be the likely contneders for the chairman slot. The PAC members include Nadeem Afzal Gondal, Riaz Fatiyana, Rukhsana Bangash, Noor Alam, Ghulam Mustafa, Saeed Ahmed Zafar, Khwaja Asif, Zahid Hamid, Ayaz Sadiq ,Qamar Zaman Kaira, Waseem Akhtar are likley to participate in the meeting.