KHUSHAB/HARIPUR - Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz on Thursday won the by-election of National Assembly constituency NA-69 Khushab by defeating PTI candidate.
PML-N candidate Malik Aziz Khan scored 80,946 votes while runner up Malik Umar Aslam bagged 60,785 votes, reported a private TV channel.
As many as 298 polling stations were established. Forty-nine of these polling stations were declared highly sensitive.
Three candidates were in the race for NA-69 Khushab including Aziz Khan of PML-N and Umar Aslam of PTI . There are 327,335 registered voters in the constituency.
Earlier, PTI candidate Umar Aslam Awan blamed former MPA Ali Haider Noor Niazi for entering into the polling stations number 208 and 209 along with his 50 armed supporters and rigging the process in opponents’ favour.
Presiding officer Shah Jahan Aslam said the armed men somehow succeeded in casting a few hundred forged ballots; however, following PTI’s protest, the polling was stopped at the disputed polling station at 3:30 afternoon.
Presiding officer also said that over 250 fake ballots had been recovered from polling station number 208.
Meanwhile, PTI candidate Akbar Ayub Khan on Thursday won the by-election in PK-50 Haripur constituency defeating the PML-N candidate.
According to unofficial results, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate bagged a total of 25,700 votes, defeating Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Qazi Anwar, who scored 17,963.
As many as 116 polling stations were established in the constituency. There are 153,374 registered voters in this constituency.
Seventy-five of these polling stations were declared sensitive and five most sensitive.
Elaborate security arrangements were made to ensure security and avoid any untoward incident during the polling.
Although the process was mostly peaceful, there were small incidents that disrupted the polls .