ISLAMABAD - The pair of M Abid/Heera Ashiq Saturday stunned favorites Shahzad Khan/Yasir Khan to grab the 2nd Kulsum Saifullah Khan Memorial National Ranking Tennis Championship 2016 doubles title here at Senator Dilawar Abbas PTF Complex.

In a nerve-jangling close final, which went right down to the wire, Abid/Heera completely outclassed Shahzad/Yasir 6-1, 6-7 (1), 10-8. A skewed contest was witnessed in the first set as Abid/Heera took it 6-1. Shahzad/Yasir woke up from deep slumber and started playing their usual aggressive baseline game and managed to retain their respective serves and brought the set to tiebreak and won the set 7-6 (1).

The final got really exciting in the super tiebreak. It was nerve-wrecking encounter as top class tennis was witnessed and both pairs fought for each and every point, but it was Abid/Heera, who finally prevailed, and won the marathon super tie break 10-8 to bag the first-ever doubles ranking title of their careers.

In the U-14 final, Shoaib Khan routed Sami Zaib 6-1, 6-1 to clinch his maiden title. The pair of Rashid Malik and Hameed ul Haq defeated Israr Gul/Inamullah Khan 6-1, 6-1 to win the 45 plus doubles final title.

Aman Attiq won the boys’ singles U-18 title after beating Haris Irfan ul Haq. Aman won the first set 6-3 and the second 6-4 to grab the title. In U-10 semifinals, Hamid Israr beat Ubaid Ullah 5-3, 4-5 (3) and 5-4 (0) while Hamza Roman beat M Huzaifa Khan 5-4 (1) and 4-0.