ISLAMABAD - Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza has announced a 27-member Special Committee of the Parliament on Constitutional Reforms for preparing constitutional package to repeal 17th Amendment and 58(2)b and give roadmap to implement the Charter of Democracy (CoD). Addressing a press conference at Parliament House on Tuesday, the Speaker National Assembly said that almost all parliamentary parties had been given representation in the committee. The committee consists of senior parliamentarians and I understand that it has been tasked with a big responsibility, she said. Dr Mirza said that the National Assembly on April 10, 2009 and the Senate on April 29, 2009 had adopted the motions for the constitution of the committee. I hope the committee will move forward with positive thinking and succeed in working out consensus recommendations. However, decision will be taken on majority vote if no consensus recommendations come forward. I hope that the committee will present a comprehensive report of unanimous recommendations, she said. The NA speaker has no authority to nominate chairman of the committee and the members will themselves elect their chairman. It will be fully independent without having any timeframe and hopefully it will soon present its recommendations, said Mirza while answering a question. She added that she had invited the committees members on lunch on coming Thursday to decide about the date for calling a meeting of the committee for electing its chairman on the occasion. She said that the committee would hold at least one meeting in a month, adding the rules of joint session would be applied on it, as it comprised members of the both houses. Responding to a question, she said that the process of constitution of the committee was delayed six months due to consultations of members names with the concerned parliamentary leaders of political parties. She said if any party wanted to change its member, it could do so after consulting her. The Special Committee of the Parliament on Constitutional Reforms comprises Senator Mian Raza Rabbani (PPP), Minister for Water and Power Raja Pervaiz Ashraf (PPP), Minister for Privatisation Syed Naveed Qamar (PPP), Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Senator Dr Zaheeruddin Babar Awan (PPP), Senator Nawabzada Mir Haji Lashkari Raisani (PPP), Leader of Opposition in the National Assembly Ch Nisar Ali Khan (PML-N), Senator Ishaq Dar (PML-N), MNA Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan Abbasi (PML-N), MNA Ch Ahsan Iqbal (PML-N), Leader of Opposition in the Senate Wasim Sajjad (PML-Q), Senator SM Zafar (PML-Q), MNA Humayun Saifullah Khan (PML-Q), MNA Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar (MQM), MNA Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi (MQM), MNA Asfandyar Wali Khan (ANP), Senator Haji Muhammad Adeel (ANP), MNA Maulana Fazlur Rehman (JUI-F), Minister for Housing and Works Senator Rehmatulla Kakar (JUI-F), Minister for Local Government and Rural Development Senator Justice (Retd) Abdul Razzaq A Thahim (PML-F), Minster for Postal Services Senator Mir Israrullah Zehri (BNP-A), Senator Prof Khurshid Ahmed (JI), Senator Abdul Malik (NP), MNA Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao (PPP-S), MNA Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi (NPP), Senator Abdul Rahim Khan Mandokhel (PkMAP), Senator Shahid Hussain Bugti (JWP) and MNA Munir Khan Orakzai (Fata).