ISLAMABAD - All the ministers in the federal cabinet including federal ministers and ministers of state have been allocated the same portfolio allotted to them by the former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani.

According to an official notification issued here on Saturday, newly elected Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf allocated portfolios to the 38 ministers and ministers of state.

Following is the list of federal ministers and ministers of state with their allotted portfolios:

1. Chaudhry Pervez Elahi (Senior Minister) (Defence Production, Industries); 2. Farzana Raja (Benazir Income Support Programme); 3. Makhdoom Amin Fahim (Commerce); 4. Dr Arbab Alamgir Khan (Communication); 5. Nazar Muhammad Gondal (Capital Administration and Development); 6. Rana Muhammad Farooq Saeed Khan (Climate Change); 7. Syed Naveed Qamar (Defence); 8. Hina Rabbani Khar (Foreign Affairs); 9. Dr Abdul Hafeez Sheikh (Finance, Revenue, Planning and Development, Economic Affairs and Statistics); 10. Qamar Zaman Kaira (Information and Broadcasting); 11. Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani (Inter-Provincial Coordination); 12. Mian Manzoor Ahmed Wattoo (Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan); 13. Farooq Hamid Naek (Law and Justice, Parliamentary Affairs); 14. Haji Khuda Bux Rajar (Narcotics Control); 15. Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan (National Regulations and Services); 16. Samina Khalid Ghurki (National Heritage and Integration); 17. Mir Israrullah Zehri (National Food Security and Integration); 18. Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar (Overseas Pakistanis); 19. Babar Khan Ghauri (Ports and Shipping); 20. Sardar Muhammad Omar Gorgej (Postal Services); 21. Moula Bakhsh Chandio (Political Affairs); 22. Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour (Railways); 23. Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah (Religious Affairs); 24. Mir Changez Khan Jamali (Science and Technology); 25. Engr Shaukatullah (States and Frontier Regions); 26. Makhdoom Shahabuddin (Textile Industry); 27. Chaudhry Ahmad Mukhtar (Water and Power)

Following are eleven ministers of state with their portfolios:

1. Abbas Ahmed Afridi (Commerce); 2. Mir Dost Muhammad Mazari (Communication); 3. Sardar Salim Haider Khan (Defence); 4. Nawabzada Malik Amad Khan (Foreign Affairs); 5. Syed Sumsam Ali Bukhari (Information and Broadcasting); 6. Chaudhry Imtiaz Safdar Warraich (Interior); 7. Malik Azmat Khan (Inter-Provincial Coordination); 8. Muhammad Moazzam Ali Khan Jatoi (National Food Security and Research); 9. Dr Nadeem Ehsan (Overseas Pakistanis); 10. Raheela Baloch (Science and Technology); 11. Tasneem Ahmed Qureshi (Water and Power)

Furthermore, Rehman Malik, who was an interior adviser prior to the unseating of former premier Yousuf Raza Gilani, was promoted as senior advisor to prime minister on internal affairs. His status would be equal to federal minister.

The Cabinet Division has also issued notification of appointment of Rehman Malik as senior adviser on interior, Dr Asim as adviser on petroleum and natural resources and Dr Paul Bhatti as adviser on national harmony.

Meanwhile, sources in the PML-Q said that some more ministers from the party would be administered oath either on Monday or Tuesday with same portfolios allocated to them by the former prime minister.

Meanwhile, newly-elected Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf on Saturday formally took charge of his duties after he was presented the guard of honour on arrival at the PM’s House.

After the national anthem, the prime minister inspected the guard of honour. He was introduced to the staff and other senior officials of the Prime Minister House after which he left for his office.