GILGIT (Meraj Alam) - Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Tuesday nominated Hafiz Hafeezur Rahman as Chief Minister Gilgit-Baltistan. The PML-N has grabbed 22 out of 33 seats of the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly.

Hafiz Hafeezur Rahman will take oath of his office on June 26 and Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif will visit Gilgit to attend the ceremony.

Regarding security arrangements during upcoming visit of the PM, a meeting was held under the chair of IG Police Gilgit-Baltistan Zafar Iqbal Awan in central police office. He directed the police officers concerned for ensuring foolproof security during the PM’s visit. He was also briefed about the security plan chalked out in connection with the PM’s visit.

WOMEN RESERVED AND TECHNOCRATS' SEATS: Chief Election Commissioner G-B Justice (R) Tahir Ali Shah on Tuesday announced the results of 6 reserved seats for women and 3 technocrats of G-B Legislative Assembly.

According to official results, the PML-N secured 4 seats out of 6 in GBLA in women reserved election and 2 out of 3 technocrats' seats. With this development, the PML-N’s number of seats has reached to 22 in Gilgit-Baltistan.

The MWM got one seat of each technocrats and women and ITP has got one seat of women reserved seats.

The Chief Election Commissioner issued notification of Shehreen Akhtar, Nasreen Bano, Rani Atika Ghzanfer and Sobia Jabeen Makhdoom who belong to the PML-N. As well as, Bibi Saleema from MWM and Rehana Abidi belong to the ITP have been selected for women reserved seats

Meanwhile, PML-N’s Aurang Zaib Advocate and M Amin, while M Shafi of the MWM also got nominated.