Snicko snub

During the India vs Pakistan match, Umar Akmal was given 'out' by the third umpire as the ball was neatly collected by the wicketkeeper Mhendra Singh Dhoni despite the snickometer not confirming an edge off the bat. While the batsman was initially ruled 'not out' by the on-field umpire, the decision was surprisingly reversed after Indian captain opted for the Decision Review System and Akmal was given out for reasons known best to the third umpire.

The dead ball debate

On day one of the WC, when England took on Australia, English batsman James Taylor was denied a century by an umpiring error. The confusion arose when an LBW appeal from Josh Hazlewood went against Taylor. Meanwhile, the Australian had also tried to run-out James Anderson at the other end. While Taylor called for a review and the LBW was overruled, Anderson was give a run out. But according to cricketing rules, a ball is considered 'dead' once a batsman is given out.

Creased out

England's World Cup came to an early end, but they had their share of a controversial decisions going against them. Chris Jordan dived to reach his crease after an aborted attempt at a single in match with Bangladesh. A close call for the third umpire to make! Replays showed his bat had bounced off the ground after his dive, but they weren't conclusive as to whether the bat had completely off the ground or not, and he was given an out.

Some call, this

Indian opener Rohit Sharma got a reprieve when he was on 90 and tried to smack a full toss from Rubel Hossain. The 'no-ball' call went in favour of the Indian opener, denying the Bangladesh bowler a crucial wicket. Replays showed that it was a real touch-and-go situation - the decision could have gone either way. Now, whether you agree with the decision or not depends on whether you are an India supporter or a Bangladesh one.