LAHORE - PAT chief Dr Tahirul Qadri has formed a nine-member committee headed by party president Dr Raheeq Abbasi for contesting local bodies’ election in the 42 cantonments of the country.

“The committee will decide for contesters and contact political and religious parties for alliance in the election,” the party spokesperson said on Sunday.

The committee has sent out letters to all the provincial presidents and secretaries seeking their advice and recommendations for the aspiring candidates. The party presidents and secretaries have also been instructed to send the applications of the aspirants to the central secretariat of PAT by March 27.

The other members of the committee are Khurram Nawaz Gandapur, Basharat Jaspal, Sheikh Zahid Fayyaz, Fayyaz Warraich, Sajid Bhatti, Raazia Naveed, Shoaib Tahir, Noorullah Siddique and Irfan Yousaf.

The PAT chairman instructed that where ever elections are going to be held the local leadership of PAT must form committees and the names of the candidates to be announced after consultation.

He said like-minded parties must be contacted and mutual candidates must be bought in the field.