DCO Lahore Squash event begins tomorrow

LAHORE - The 2nd DCO Lahore Closed Satellite Squash Tournament 2016 will commence tomorrow (Friday) here at the Punjab Squash Complex. The qualifying round of the tournament will be played tomorrow while the main round will start on March 26 and conclude on March 30. City District Squash Association (CDSA) secretary Mamnon Khan said that DCO Lahore Captain (r) Usman Younis was keen to support squash, therefore, for the second time this year, they had been organising such a mega event of squash. “We are providing young talent a platform to showcase their skills and then excel at higher level.” Mamnon said that more than 120 players from across the country would participate in the event. “Squash stars were also invited to witness such an extravaganza which will commence tomorrow,” he said.–Staff Reporter

Harris, Asad in Jr Ranking Tennis final

LAHORE – Harris Irfan Ul Haq and Asad Ullah qualified for the finals of the Servis Tyres Junior National Ranking Tennis Tournament after defeating their opponents in the semifinals played here at Punjab Lawn Tennis Courts on Wednesday. In U-18 boys’ semifinal, Harris beat Hamza Bin Rehan 6-2, 6-3 and in second semifinal, Asad Ullah defeated Barkat Ullah 6-3, 6-4. In U-18 boys’ doubles semifinal, Barkat Ullah & Asad Ullah beat Ahmad Kamil & Nalain Abbas 6-3, 6-2 and in second semifinal, Harris & Mujahid Khan beat Yousaf Khan & Hamza Bin Rehan 6-2, 6-0. In U-18 girls’ semifinal, Noor Malik thrashed Insia Bhandari 6-1, 6-0 while Shimza Tahir crushed Maheen Khan 6-0, 6-0. In U-14 boys’, Nalain Abbas and Hamza registered wins while in U-12 boys, Abdul Hanan and Faizan Fayyaz were winners.–Staff Reporter

Iram wins POF Board Wah Open Race

ISLAMABAD - Iram Shehzadi lifted the ladies category title of the Chairman POF Board Wah Open Marathon Race held to mark Pakistan Day at POF Sports Complex on Wednesday. Kiran Shehzadi got second and Zainab Khan third position. Israr Khattak won first position in open category while Faizan Khan got second and Nadeem Hassan third. In silver category, M Maroof earned first, Shaukat Ali Khan second and M Bashir third position. Abdus Salam got first, M Abdullah second and Hamza Ali third position in kids’ category. POF Board chairman Lt Gen Omar Mahmood Hayat, HI(M), was the chief guest and distributed cash prizes and shields among the position holders. POF Sports Control Board secretary Asad Durrani said: “The aim of the race was to present softer image of the country at national and international level and its credit goes to POF Sports Control Board president and Executive Director HR & OD Dr Amir Murad.”–Staff Reporter

LAHORE: Chief guest Mumtaz Riaz and PCA president Moazzam Khan giving away cash award and medal to the winner of cycling race. PCA secretary Farrukh Wazir and Shahzada Butt were also seen in the picture.–Staff photo

LAHORE: Winners of Pakistan Day Open Ordinary Cycle Road Race pose with PCA officials.