The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Thursday gave No-objection Certificates (NOC) to its players after getting clearance from the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the participation in the upcoming Sharjah Sixes Tournament.

The PCB spokesman said that the cricket board first contacted the ICC in order to get clearance regarding the participation of its players in the Super Sixes Tournament to be held from May 20 to June 1, 2013 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium. The ICC allowed the PCB which later gave the permission to its 15 players to appear in the said event.

The players who got NOC from the PCB were Shahid Afridi, Younus Khan, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razaq, Ahmed Shahzad, Tanvir Ahmed, Rana Naveed, Owais Zia, Aizaz Cheema, Shahzaib Hassan, Sharjil Khan, Haris Sohail, Hammad Azam, Imran Nazir and Yassir Shah.

The 48 teams will be split into 16 groups of three teams with each team playing a minimum of three games. The Sharjah Sixes will be played under regular sixes rules with each game being played between two teams of six players each and a game consisting of a maximum of five six-ball overs bowled by each side.

The fielding team gets to play with eight players, with six nominated players and two substitutes, although only five of the nominated six players can bowl. Batsmen are also required to retire once they reach 31 runs. The Sharjah Sixes, in a bid to encourage the best possible play in the inaugural tournament, will be giving out eight awards at the end of the tournament with huge cash prizes.

The winning team will receive Dh 40,000 while the second and third-placed teams will get Dh 25,000 and Dh 15,000 respectively. Individually, the player of the tournament, best batsman, best bowler and highest six hitter will all receive Dh 2,000 while man of the matches will receive certificates.