Nasir Shah


In 88 union councils of Sahiwal, the PML-N bagged 45, independents 33 and PTI just 10 chairman and vice chairman seats in the second phase of the local bodies elections.

In the Municipal Corporation Sahiwal city, the PML-N bagged 10 seats out of 12. However, UC 06 Returning Officer Khalid Khan held the results of chairman and vice chairman slot and till filling of this report, recounting of votes was underway at his office.

Ch Shafqat Javed, the losing candidate of chairman, had demanded recounting of votes. In Municipal Committee Kameer, PTI won in 7 wards while the PML-N stood second with 4 seats. In Municipal Committee Chichawatni, the PTI won 12 seats while PML-N and Independent share 9 and 1 seats respectively. Malik Nadeem Kamran said that among total 72 general councillor seats, the PML-N fielded 50 candidates.

The PML-N ticket holders won 37 seats while the rest were won by the independents. There are 1,307,011 registered votes out of which 576,646 are females. There are 12 urban and 88 rural union councils in two tehsils of district. The PTI emerged as leading party both in the Municipal Committee Kameer and Municipal Committee Chichawatni.

Meanwhile, an independent candidate won chairman slot against PML-N through tossing a coin. Irshad Balooch, an independent candidate, with electoral symbol bucket won the slot of chairman through coin toss in Union Council 79, Tehsil Chichawatni.

There was competition between Khizer Hayat, a PML-N a ticket holder, and Irshad Baloch for the chairman slots. Both the candidates scored equal votes 1,692 during the final consolidation of result at RO office. The returning officer suggested toss upon which both the candidates agreed. The toss was done and Khizer Hayat with lion symbol lost the toss. Later, the RO declared Irshad Baloch as the winner.