ISLAMABAD - In an unprecedented move necessasitated by the apex court orders, the federal government has finally reverted promotions of 80 officers of the bureaucracy from grade 21 to 20. The list includes brother in law of former president Asif Ali Zardari who is currently serving as Additional Chief Secretary in Sindh government and some close relatives of the former cabinet members. The government is expected to re-convene the Central Selection Board sometimes in November to consider grade 20 to 21 promotion cases in light of guidelines given by the apex court. Now these civil baboos, some of them having strong political affiliations, will have to face stricter criterion to sail through. The establishment division on Tuesday issued the notification to hold back the promotion of these bureaucrats after seeking legal input from the Law Ministry.

The government’s action followed a Supreme Court verdict two weeks back whereby the apex body had directed the federal government to revert these promotions and constitute a new selection board for the said process. Many of these promotions were done by the Central Selection Board in its meetings in February 2013 allegedly on the behest of the then premier Raja Pervez Ashraf under instructions of the presidency. Interestingly, the then government had promoted 80 of these officers in grade 21 although the approved vacancies stood at 56.

Supreme Court of Pakistan had announced the verdict, reserved on July 12 this year, in a civil servants promotion case, almost two weeks back. A three-judge bench of the apex court headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry had declared that promotions made during former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf’s tenure were illegal and nullified the whole process. The court had directed that the process should be carried out purely on merit and a new board should be established for the promotion of the officers.

Promotion Policy 2013 and Civil Services Act should also be brought into consideration for officers’ promotion, the court said. Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry authored and announced the verdict.

Brother-in-law of former president Asif Ali Zardari Dr Fazalullah Pechoho is also included among the affectees of the decision. Dr Fazalullah Pechoho is currently performing the duties of additional chief secretary in the Sindh while he was at serial No132 in the seniority list but even then he was included in the list of 80 officers who were promoted from grade 20 to grade 21.

The 80 civil bureaucracy babus who now stand demoted are Farooq Ahmed Khan, Maj (Retd) Tariq Javed Afridi, Abdul Jalil, Capt (Retd) Rashid Bashir Mazari, Tipu Mahabet Khan, Athar Hussain Khan, Aftab Habib, Aijaz Ahmed, Ahmed Yar Khan Sq. Ldr., Capt (Retd) Tariq Masud, Ali Zaheer Hazara, Shujat Ali, Aftab Ahmad Maneka, Usman Ali, Muhammad Aslam Hayat, Javaid Nisar Syed, Mohsin S. Haqqani, Ajaz Ali Khan, M. Tariq Mahmood Pirzada, Shoaib Ahmad Siddiqui, Capt (Retd) Zahid Saeed, Dr Hammad Uwais Agha, Altaf Ezid Khan, Shah Sahib, Sajjad Ahmed, Arbab Muhammad Arif, Hassan Iqbal, Imran Afzal Cheema, Sardar Ahmed Nawaz Sukhera, Mrs. Yasmin Masood, Saqib Aleem, Muzaffar Mehmood, Dr Allah Bakhsh, Muhammad Ijaz, Mohammad Younus Dagha, Naveed Kamran Bluch, Shmail Ahmed, Mohammed Misbah, Mukhtar Hussain, Aurangzeb Haque, Muhammad Tariq Hayat, Capt., Dr. Syed Sohail Altaf, Ghulam Qadir Khan, Maj. Rizwan Ullah Beg, Azam Suleman Khan, Sq. Ldr. (Retd)Abid Ali, Sq. Ldr. (Retd)Muhammad Ifran Elahi, Sq. Ldr. (Retd)Amjad Ali Toor, Maj (Retd) Qaiser Majeed Malik, Capt. (Retd)Malik Tahir Sarfraz Awan, Capt. (Retd)Atta Muhammad Khan, Capt. (Retd)Fazeel Asghar, Amjad Shahid Afridi, Shabbir Ahmed, Yousaf Naseem Khokar, Allam ud Din Bullo, Dr Syed Hyder Ali, Dr Fida Muhammad Wazir, Rizwan Malik, Imran Ahmed, Muhammad Ashraf, Shaista Sohail, Rabiya Adila Javeri, Muhammad Ilyas, Mummtaz Ali Shah, Jamil Ahmed, Muhammad Asif, Sheikh Zia ul Haq, Muhammad Javed Hanif, Rashid Ahmed, Shoaib Mir Memon, Jalal Sikandar Sultan, Babar Hassan Bharwana, Imran Nasir Khan, Shfaqut ur Rehman Ranjha, Tariq Feroze Khan, Munir Ahmed, Nasrullah Khan, Dr Fazlullah Pechuho, Rizwan Ahmed.