LAHORE - The PPP leadership is analysing the factors which led to defeat of its candidate, Shabbir Leghari at the hands of late Farooq Legharis son in the recent by-election in DG Khan. The constituency-NA-172-falls in the home town of Punjab Governor Sardar Latif Khosa, and for which the federal government had announced a development package of over Rs 2 billion to woo the voters. Widening gulf between the leadership and workers is stated to be the main reason for PPP candidates defeat in the by-election. Many said old PPP guards were also not consulted during the election campaign. What is most disturbing for the PPP leadership is the fact that party has lost much of its vote bank in NA-172 compared to 2008 elections. Victory of PPP candidate from this constituency had been very important for the top leadership owing to its affiliation with former President of Pakistan Farooq Ahmad Khan Leghari, who once betrayed his leader Benazir Bhutto. Though late Leghari is no more in the world, but the rivalry has found its way into the next generation. Since parting of ways with PPP in 1996, Farooq Leghari had managed to secure this seat either for himself or for his candidate. In 1997 general elections, his candidate Jaffar Leghari won from NA-172. In 2002 elections, Farooq Leghari himself was in the contest and won the seat by securing 56, 000 votes. The seat went to him again in 2008 general elections, but PPP candidate Shabbir Leghari managed to obtain over 37, 000 votes. But in the bye-election he lost around 60 per cent of his vote bank and was pushed to number-three position despite support coming from the federal government. Farooq Legharis son, Awais Leghari got 57,446 votes, around two thousand more than his father had got in 2008. The PPP candidates also did not perform well in the neighboring district of Muzaffargarh in the by-elections. Two independent candidates, Basit Sultan and Haroon Sultan defeated PPP candidates on two provincial assembly seats falling in the constituency of the then federal Minister Qayyum Jatoi. Senior PPP leaders including Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, Governor Latif Khosa Partys Punjab President Imtiaz Safdar Warraich, Senator Faisal Raza Aabidi, Qayyum Jatoi, Amjad Dasti and Opposition Leader in Punjab Assembly Raja Riaz were the leaders who visited the constituency during the election campaign. Some 50 to 60 MPAs from Punjab were also deputed for the purpose. These leaders announced electrification of 72 villages, Sui gas connections to thousands of houses, besides distribution of ration from Baitul Maal. President Zara-e-Taraqiati Bank Zaka Ashraf arranged an agriculture mela for formers and loan defaulters were offered a special package to payback their loans. Awais Leghari, the winning candidate alleged while speaking in National Assembly that over 28,000 BISP forms were distributed in the constituency to secure victory for the PPP candidate. Malik Riaz of Bahria Town is said have set up 'BB Dastarkhan to feed the poor during election campaign. PM Gilani also inaugurated DG Khan campus of Bahauddin Zakaria University Multan. It is noteworthy that PML-N candidate Hafiz Abdul Karim got majority votes from Tumman Khosa, the place where Latif Khosa lives. Fort Munro, another place in the constituency where Dastarbandi of governor took place during election campaign, the PPP candidate got six votes only, while Awais got 627. From the home station of partys City President Behram Buzdar, the PPP candidate got 3 votes only. Similarly, from the polling station in the home station of District President Shibli Ghauri, the PPP candidate got only 13 votes while PML-N candidate secured 400 and Awais 300 votes.