Karachi - After the incident of Abbas Town bomb blast in the constituency of NA -253, Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) and other banned Jehadi outfits have become a nightmare for the candidates belonging to liberal parities, including Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM),PPP, ANP, Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) and others.

According to some reports, the candidates of MQM, PPP and ANP might be the main target of terrorists attacks in the constituency, following the current trend of terrorists activities in the country and Karachi as well.

On the other hand, newly emerging religious-political party, Majlis-e-Wehdatul Muslimeen (MWM) is already considered opponent to these Jehadi outfits, so its candidates also face threats, which may result in targeted killings, bomb blasts and suicide attacks etc.

It is pertinent to mention here that MQM central election office, situated in Mosamiat (NA-253), has already been attacked and vandalised by some armed religious elements few days back.

After attack they write some words of threat for MQM in future. It may be noted here that Fakhur-ul-Islam, a Muttahida Qaumi Movement candidate from PS-47 was shot to death by unknown assailants near Hyderabad recently, and TTP had already claimed the murder. MQM has been repeatedly threatened by the Tehreek-e-Taliban.


Conversely, this year, one of the hottest slots in the City, NA-253, would not be so trouble-free for the winning party of this constituency, MQM, as some new and old parties, like PTI, MWM, Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), PPP, ANP have planned to use new political weapons from their political arsenal against their rivals. In the last election, held in 2008, MQM`s Syed Haider Abbas Rizivi won with score of 97,074 votes defeating PPP`s Faisal Raza Abidi who scored 47,755 votes.

NA-253 comprises major areas of Gulshan-e-Iqbal, Gulistan-e-Jauhar, NED universities, Metroville, Shantinagar and portions of Gubhan town and Faisal Cantonment.


As per some political pundits, this year the community based politics might play vital role in the winning of any candidate on NA or PS slots in the upcoming elections, while the newly emerged Majlis-e-Wehdatul Muslimeen, belonging to Shia community, can also help in the decision of the winner of this seat. However, in the said constituency there are lots of Shia community pockets who have been affiliated with MQM, which is known for diminishing sectarian violence from Karachi in the mid of eighties. But, after incident of Abbas Town and various targeted killings of the members of Shia community in the City, they have been forced to boycott some political parties including MQM and PPP. However, this year MQM may face hard task to win in this constituency with the support of Shia community, while the leaders of MWM also claimed that the party would use the community votes in the right direction. But MQM hopes that Shia votes would not go to any other party. 


Muhammad Muzammal Qureshi has been fielded by MQM, on this very important seat of NA-253, while Asadullah Bhutto by JI, Irshad Khan Chagharzai by ANP, Ashraf Qureshi by PTI, Asghar Zaidi by MWM, Mushtaq Ali by MQM-H, Ashraf Memon by JUI-F and Murad Baloch by PPP. Electoral signs: MQM has kite, JI-Tarazo, PPP-arrow, PTI-bat, MWM-tent, Laltain, JUI-F-Kitab, MQM Haqiqi-candle etc.



There are three seats of Provincial Assembly, including PS-126, PS-127 and PS-118 which fall in NA-253.

PS-126 comprises the areas of Gulshan-i-Iqbal, Gultistan-i-Jauhar, Hussain Hazara village and NED universities, Metroville, Railway Society. Syed Faisal Ali Sabzwari is contesting for MQM, who had won on this seat in the last election, Ilyas Gabol for PPP, Saifur Rehman Khan for PTI, Allama Deedar Ali Jalbani for MWM, Sathi Sheikh for PML-Q, Younus Barai for JI. On the seat of PS-127 Jafer ul Hassan has been fielded by PML-Q, Ashfaq Mangi for MQM, Ashraf Sammo for PPP, Muhammad Rafiq for Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML N), Syed Ali Hassan for MWM.

Syed Qutub is fielded by JI for PS-118, Adnan Ahmed for MQM, Arsalan Taj Hussain Ghumman for PTI and others.

It is pertinent to mention here that in the last election, the PS-126 seat was won by MQM`s Syed Faisal Sabzwari with 42,750 votes who defeated PPP`s Abdul Hakim Baloch who secured 30,549 votes. Similarly PS-127 was won by MQM`s Nisar Ahmad Panhwar who secured 65,473 votes and defeated PPP`s Muhammad Rafique who secured 46,469 votes.