LAHORE - Former fielding coaches Ijaz Ahmed and Shoaib Mohammad are among the six members of Pakistan cricket’s new selection committee. Ex-Test wicketkeeper Salim Yousuf, former opening batsman Wajahatullah Wasti and M Akram are the other members. Moin Khan was appointed as chief selector last week.

Khan, M and Akram were coaches of the Pakistan teams that were beaten in the Asia Cup final last month, and didn’t advance from the group stage at the World Twenty20 in Bangladesh. A reliable source said that Haroon Rasheed, who is Director Game Development in the board, may also be inducted on the selection committee as co-opted member, meaning he will not be paid as a selector.

The PCB spokesman Thursday said that Akram would be the head coach at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) and would no longer be the bowling coach of the national team. “The board has advertised several coaching jobs, including head coach and fielding coach for the national team.”

Akram earlier this year signed a two-year contract as bowling coach but was facing an uncertain fate with the coaching panel as another former fast bowler Waqar Younis was expected to roll in as head coach of the national team. But the PCB abolished the role of bowling coach. The position of head coach had been vacant since 2010 after Aqib Javed was named Pakistan assistant coach.

Pakistan batting legend Inzamamul Haq Thursday backed Waqar Younis to be given another chance as the country’s national cricket coach, saying he had proved his credentials in the past.

Pakistan is looking for a permanent coach after former Australian batsman Dav Whatmore’s two-year tenure ended in February. Fomer Test wicketkeeper and captain Moin Khan was appointed interim coach, but his two-month contract was not extended by PCB after a poor showing at the World Twenty20 last month.