Regional Inter-District U-19 Cricket

ISLAMABAD - PCB Regional Inter-District Two-day U-19 Tournament 2014 will start today (Friday) at Pindi Cricket Stadium. All the six teams of Rawalpindi Region including Rawalpindi, Attock, Mianwali, Jhelum, Chakwal and AJK will take part in the event, which concludes on May 8. A total of three matches will be played on the inaugural day as Rawalpindi will take on Jhelum at Pindi Stadium, AJK will face Mianwali Challenge at Mirpur Stadium while Attock will play against Chakwal at District ground. The event is played on single league basis. The team which finishes top on points will be declared as champion. All the arrangements have been finalized at Pindi Cricket Stadium and tight security will be witnessed in and around the stadium to avoid any irrelevant person’s enter in the ground.–Staff Reporter

India badminton league may be postponed

NEW DELHI - Indian Badminton League organisers said Thursday they were undecided about holding the second edition this year, amid reports it could be delayed due to a busy international calendar. The million-dollar franchise-based league, which was hailed a success in its inaugural season last year despite the absence of China, is due to return from September 30 until October 15. But with the world championships scheduled for August in Denmark and the Asian Games in South Korea from September 19 until October 4, the availability of top players is posing a problem for organisers. The Badminton Association of India (BAI) will make a decision mid-May, with the league likely delayed until the off-season in January and February as organisers are still not sure when to hold event.–AFP

National Jr U-18 Hockey Championship

LAHORE - The 33rd Junior U-18 National Hockey Championship will be played from May 14-25 at Hockey Club of Pakistan Stadium, Karachi under the aegis of Karachi Hockey Association (KHA) on behalf of the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF). The PHF spokesman said Thursday that the PHF had appointed PHF vice president Wasay Jalil as organising committee chairman and M Farooq Khan as organising secretary. “The PHF has directed its affiliated units to prepare and form their U-18 junior hockey teams for participation in the event. The players, born on and after January 1, 1996, duly registered with their district/provincial association are eligible to participate. A detailed directive regarding format of the championship and panel of technical officials will be issued shortly,” he added. Staff Reporter

Baqa Jillani Memorial beat Pioneer Club

LAHORE – Baqa Jillani Memorial Cricket Club (CC) has defeated Pioneer Cricket Club by two wickets in the 35-overs friendly match played here at the Iqbal Park Ground. Pioneer Club won the toss and elected to bat first. Pioneer Club posted a decent total of 250 runs for the loss of three wickets on the board in the allotted 35 overs. Khawaja Abis was top scorer for Pioneer Club as he hammered impressive 52 runs while Sultan Bhatti also contributed 52 runs and Nadeem Javed Butt added 32. Baqar Ali took 3-40. In reply, Baqa Jillani Club achieved the required target in 34.1 overs for the loss of eight wickets. Anwar Ali remained top scorer as he slammed significant 62 runs while Ashraf Bhatti contributed 48. Zaheeer Ahmed clinched 3-40, Hamza Shokat also 3-40 while Awais Ali got 2-48.–PR

Top seeds enter SN Tennis finals

ISLAMABAD - Top seeds face tough resistance in the SN Earth Day National Ladies and Junior's Tennis Championship 2014 semifinals here at the Senator Dilawar Abbas PTF Tennis Complex on Thursday. In the boys U-18 semis, Mudassar and Muzammil were given tough time by their respective opponents. Zaid Mujahid played well against Mudassar before going down while Nofil Kalim also played well to surprise Muzammil and took the first set but Muzammil made a comeback and won the next two sets. Rida Khalid made an upset when she beat second seed Mahin Aftab in straight sets. In earlier ladies quarters, Shahida Badshah beat Shahida Farooq. The finals of ladies singles, juniors U-18 and U-14 will be played today (Friday) at 3pm. IPC Minister Mian Riaz Hussain will be the chief guest on the occasion. –Staff Reporter