LAHORE - National Bank of Pakistan (NBP) defended their title when they convincingly beat Pakistan Wapda 3-1 in the final of the 34th U-20 National Hockey Championship at the Hockey Club of Pakistan Stadium Friday.  According to the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) spokesman, it was the sixth title win for the bankers in the junior section. In another match of the day, Sui Southern Gas Company (SSGC) defeated Punjab A 5-4 to win the third position in the championship.

The bankers dictated their terms from the beginning. Their forwards demonstrated their skill in dribbling, dodging and ball possession and made a good number of moves which rewarded them. Taimoor, M Naveed and Aamir Ali made a fine move in the 5th minute of the final and Naveed struck the first blow through a beautiful field goal. In the 27th minute Azfar Yaqoob dribbled beautifully and intruded into the D to earn a penalty corner and scored the goal on the rebound. Mubashir Ali struck the third blow on a penalty corner which was a reward of another brilliant move between Faizan Ali, Naveed and Azfar in the 47th minute.

Wapda fought hard in the second quart and leveled the score amid a lone move by Hamza Sajid who pass the ball to Bilal Mehmood in the D who neatly pushed it through the goal line. They missed a couple of chances. In the third quart when they were trailing by one goal, Sohail Anjum missed a simple chance to level the score. They also got four penalty corners but wasted all amid poor stoppage on the D. Kamran Hussain and Shahid Pervaiz were the field umpires.

Third position match between SSGC and Punjab-A was decided in the penalty shoots out stage after ending at 3-3 draw in the stipulated time. After SSGC Captain Zeeshan Bukhari scored a field goal in the 6th minute, Mohammed Rizwan struck twice - a field goal in the 27th and on a penalty corner hit rebound in the 36th minutes respectively. From Punjab Mohsin Sabir (29th min), Umar Mubashir (37th min) and Jalil Ahmed (58th min) scored one goal each. In the penalty shoots out stage Punjab scored one while SSGC scored two goals. Takreem Iftikhar and Mohammed Arshad supervised the match.

Pakistan Hockey Federation President Akhtar Rasool Chaudhary who was the chief guest of the final gave away winning trophy to winning captain Atiq Arshad. Rana Mujahid Ali announced Rs. 100, 000 for the NBP team.