LAHORE – The members of Lahore High Court Bar Association will elect their new body for the year 2012-13 on Saturday (today) by using their vote power.

The polling for the annual election of the LHCBA will start at Karachi Shuhada Hall, Kiyani Hall and at reading room of the LHCBA on 9:00 am that will continue till 5:00 pm.

Almost 15, 682 voters would exercise their vote power to select their favourite candidates. Special arrangements have been made to hold elections as total 9 polling booths have been installed.

Aurengzaib Mirza advocate has been nominated as Chairman Election commission while 24 deputy chairmen would assist him in this whole process. There are 17candidates who are contesting this elections and very tough competition is expected among the candidates.

For the slot of President, there are five candidates including M Aslam Battar, M Shareef Chohan, Shafqat Mehmood Chohan, Sheram Serwar Chaudhary and Muazzam Iqbal Gul.

It is being expected that there would be very tough contest between two candidates including Muhammad Aslam Buttar hailing from Professional Group and Shahram Sarwar Chaudhary of Alliance Group contesting for the slot of president.

Afzal Azeem Pahat and Hafeezur Rehman Chaudhary are contesting for the slot of vice-president, and this would also be an interesting contest between the two candidates while for the secretary of the bar, Rana Owais Tauseef and Sardar Akbar Ali Dogar have come one to one.

Muhammad Ijaz, Asif Mehmood But, Rafeela Anjum Minhas, Sheikh Faisal Zaheer, Mateenul Haq Chaudhary, Mian Shahid Shakir and Humair Butt are contesting for the Finance Secretary’s slot.