ISLAMABAD - Leader of Opposition in National Assembly Ch Nisar Ali Khan has expressed his inability to be part of the 27-member constitutional committee set up by the government to suggest reforms and undo the controversial constitutional amendments in the light of Charter of Democracy (CoD). The sources in the Parliament disclosed to TheNation that in this connection Leader of Opposition Ch Nisar Ali Khan has written a letter to Speaker National Assembly Dr Fahmida Mirza expressing his inability to be part of the proposed committee owing to his other pressing engagements. He, however, said that Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) in the committee would be represented by Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan Abbassi, Ch Ahsan Iqbal and Senator Ishaq Dar. The sources in the Parliament House informed that Speaker National Assembly Dr Fahmida Mirza has arranged a reception in honour of the members of the committee at Parliament today (Thursday) to have informal chat on the issues to be taken up for discussion in the committee meeting. The sources close to Pakistan Peoples Party disclosed that they would be taking the 80-point proposed amendment draft in the committee which they had already given to the parliamentary parties for comments. While another few proposed drafts for constitutional amendments were already tabled before the National Assembly and the Senate, which were referred to the Parliamentary Committees concerned. Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) Senators Salim Saifullah Khan and Senator Wasim Sajjad had tabled separate proposed drafts seeking further amendments in the 17th constitutional amendment and scrapping of Article 58(2)-b from the constitution. Similarly, Muttahida Qaumi Movement(MQM) leadership had also submitted constitutional amendments with main focus on the provincial autonomy and annulment of the controversial clauses from the constitution. The sources in the Parliament further disclosed that the 27-member committee would elect its chairman in its first formal meeting and in this connection the name of PPP Senator Mian Raza Rabbani was on top of the list and if he has no objection he would likely be made the chairman of the committee. The name of Federal Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Dr Babar Awan was also being floated as the likely choice of the government to head the committee. Abrar Saeed