ISLAMABAD Supreme Court on Wednesday dismissed a plea of PML-N Ex-MNA Mian Mohammad Munir, who prayed the court to fix time limit of conviction in the 1997 court rowdyism case. A six-member larger bench headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and comprising of Justice Chaudhry Ijaz Ahmed, Justice Khilji Arif Hussain, Justice Rahmat Hussain Jafferi, Justice Tariq Pervez and Justice Khalilur Rehman Ramday dismissed the plea on the ground that 'no live issue was involved in it. Wasim Sajjad, counsel for the petitioner, raised points as to whether conviction in contempt of court was covered under the Article 62 (i) (g), Article 63 (i), (g) and (h). He raised certain questions, stating that whether or not a conviction in contempt led to disqualification for life, what were the affects of apology tendered and what were the objectives of contempt? Former PML-N MNAs Tariq Aziz and Mian Mohammad Munir and MPAs Chaudhry Tanvir Ahmed Khan, Akhtar Rasool, Akhtar Mahmood and Sardar Mohammad Naseem Khan and president of the Nawaz Sharif Force Shahbaz Goshi were convicted in the contempt of court case. He said his clients conviction had become a major hurdle for him to contest elections. In 2007, his nomination papers were rejected on the basis of the Supreme Courts decision of 2000. He said his client could not contest the Senate elections, as the conviction had become a stigma. The CJ remarked, If such things are allowed, nobody will respect this institution. An MNA attacked the SC and after six years he came for pardon. Things that are considered as values are fast diminishing. We have to respect the institutions. Institutions will survive if there is respect. You are a parliamentarian yourself, go for such things. A constitutional reforms committee has been working over such issues, which is a good omen for the country, he added. On Wasims remark, the Chief Justice said, We have great respect for the Parliament. It is there, if it was not there, then God knows what would have happened. He said, We do not want to narrate what had happened with the then CJ. Justice Tariq Parvez remarked, If we pardon four persons now, tomorrow four hundred persons would come for such relief on the basis of this verdict. Justice Khalilur Rehman Ramday remarked that had the amendment under the LFO in 2000 been done with regard to conviction, it would not have been for Mr Munir and if the same was done in future then it would not be for him as well. In 2000, the Supreme Court had convicted seven PML-N leaders under contempt of the court and sentenced each of them to one months simple imprisonment with a fine of Rs 5,000 for storming the Supreme Court on Nov 28, 1997.