LAHORE - The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has confirmed that the United Arab Emirates will host the 1st edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) from February 4.

Dubai and Sharjah will host a total of 24 matches in 21-day period. "The Pakistan Superb League has already floated tenders for broadcasters and producers. This will be followed by a tendering process for sponsorships in the second week of October. Franchise owners will be inducted between mid to end November after which the foreign and local players will be drafted and teams constituted,” said chairman of the Governing Council of the PSL Najam Sethi. “Some of the big names, who have consented to play the PSL include Kevin Pietersen, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Luke Wright, Shakib al Hassan, Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, and Angelo Mathews,” he added.

“Five teams, Quetta, Karachi, Peshawar, Lahore, and Islamabad, will be vying for glory in the first edition of the PSL. The teams will comprise the top T20 players from the world with the latest tally of foreign player signing consents standing at an impressive 132. The players will be selected through a draft process in December,” Sethi said and added: “There is a pool of top coaches also from which franchise owners will be able to pick and chose.”

“The PSL will offer up to $1million in prize money. Each franchise will be able to draft players and coaches for the team within a budget of $1million,” he concluded.